LS1LT1 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a autometer tans temp gauge and was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on were to put the sending unit for it? One told me a bolt about half way up the transmission on the drivers side the is the exact size's but he said that no fluid will come out. Now i was thinking that the gauge is suppose to read the trans fluid temp right? Im still kinda new to all of this
Thanks

·
Registered
79 Posts
NOt real forsure on your car but I would think that the best place would be is on the line going from the trans to the trans cooler. A tee from the local auto parts store should be able to get what you need.

·
Registered
52 Posts
8UWAV6 said:
NOt real forsure on your car but I would think that the best place would be is on the line going from the trans to the trans cooler. A tee from the local auto parts store should be able to get what you need.
Yep, I did this on my 95' T'd the senor on the trans cooler line. I wanted to see how accurate it was and on the 4L60E there is a thermistor in the pan for the PCM to monitor trans temp. So I plugged in the laptop checked out the trans temp and compared to the autometer and it was within 1 degree. and I installed the T closer to the radiator then the trans.

BTW we carry auto meter so if you need anything let me know.
-=Rick

·
Registered
388 Posts
I put mine into the bolt hole near the top on the driver's side like you mentioned and my readings seem to be accurate. Haven't did an exact monitoring with Autotap or anything like that but given driving and weather conditions the temp is where it should be in each circumstance.

·
Registered
18 Posts
8UWAV6 said:
That is where I put mine. I feel the temperature there is probably ALMOST as accurate as the probe being in the tranny pan.

·
victim of circumstances
444 Posts
This is an old thread but I'd like to use it instead of creating a new one for my question.