LS1LT1 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this, but figured collectively that you guys could help me with my 97 Firehawk 6M.
Here is what I have done:
*Headers, mufflers, Mass Airflow, 58mm tb, 410 rear gears, Hypertech tune, KN filter.
I wouldnt mind tearing it down and doing heads and cam, but the car only has 10k miles on it. I cant bring myself to do it, so I would like some supercharger help.
1. Is Procharger the best option?
2. Can I only go 8psi with stock engine?
3. Does anybody have a used one for sale that is complete?
Any other thoughts??

This car is my FRS (friday release of stress) car. It sits in the garage all the time. I don't plan on dragging this car, just having fun. Maybe I'll drive it more.

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
Dido what Fox Slaughter said. I ask though why mess with such a good working LT1? It has no issues which is abnormal so why...just why?

·
Registered
136 Posts
1. Procharger is your only option for a new kit.
2. 6psi is where I would start.
3. Any Procharger rep.

The kits are not cheap and honestly, unless you are dumping a bunch into the supporting mods, I would just do a good heads/cam setup.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
ok. so without a forged componet motor, it is just a matter of time before it blows-this is what Im starting to understand. The $5500 price tag for a scharger would go a long way in either rebuilding to a 383 stroker or just heads and cam. All I want is some more fun in a car that I don't drive much. Do you know of anybody with a low mile LT1 that is scharged that blew it up?
What hp could a guy get with good heads and a cam?
How tough actually the LT1? I don't personally know anybody with one to ask questions to.
I just want to pull up to some newer cars and leave em behind.
thanks for all the help.

·
Premium Member
5,014 Posts