LS1LT1 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 94 firebird formula is really getting to me. I just did a water pump, opti, timing chain. Car was running fine. One morning in Indiana it got down to 14 degrees. It was hard to start but fired up. Drove home from work and parked it. When I went to start it again it just turns over. No unusual sounds when its cranking. I checked the compression and its good, fuel pressure read 42-44psi on prime. I hit it up with some starting fluid and it starts to run so its sparking. Threw a noid light on all the injectors and nothing. Double checked my bonny and the light is working

Is it possible my PCM just quit? I'm not a master mechanic by and means but that just seems really unlikely to me. I was also thinking the optispark could have somehow went bad again but as long as the optical disc is there shouldnt the injectors still pulse? Like always I assume there is something I am missing or overlooking..Any suggestions would be appreciated
!!!

·
Premium Member
5,014 Posts
before going any further, you need to check for 12 volt ignition switched power at the pink wires on the injector plugs (ground to chassis) with the car not running.

if you dont have that 12 volts, it's not the ecm or opti you're dealing with. could be injector fuses, ignition switch or wiring, or the 'big pink splices of doom' in your engine wiring harness

·
Premium Member
5,014 Posts
and yes, if you lost opti pulses, you'd lose spark and fuel -- but it's weird for this to happen right after swapping an opti. it's likely the opti.

if you have injector power, and the injectors are not pulsing at all; there's not much else it could be, and i question your shaky 'i used starter fluid' proof of spark too

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4