LS1LT1 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
ok, here is what i have. 95' trans am with a 383 stroker. it has been sitting for about a year and three months. when i went to check the oil, it was chocolate milk looking. due to condinsation im guessing. this check was done after i had started it and saw alot of white smoke coming out of my exhaust. the motor sounded fine tho thru this. no knocking. after getting it back in my shop i changed the oil untill it was running clear thru my oil pan drain plug opening. i then proceded to start the car, and started to here a knocking noise coming from the engine on both driver and passenger side. could this be rods knocking??? or is it caused by something to do with the oil being clogged some where and not letting the fresh oil in? i am no mechanic, just have done some slight motor work in my time. any help and other questions to try and pin point it would be greatly appreciated.

·
Spelling Bee winnah!
5,018 Posts
If there was enough condensation to create a milky effect in your oil I would assume some rusting happened in the bottom end as well. The real way to tell if you have a rod knock is to pull the oil pan and see. The car shouldn't be running to well either. How was this car stored?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·