LS1LT1 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
900 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read a bunch of different ways to adjust rockers but was wondering if there is a specific procedure for the LT1? My entire valvetrain is stock gm equipment.

·
Whistles go Whoooooooooo
16,470 Posts

·
Registered
900 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I didn't realize that sticky was up there! Thanks. This is my first time adjusting the rockers and the IC/EO method doesn't seem difficult at all.

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
I usually do the multiple valve method in 2 turns, then run the engine and re adjust each valve till it stops ticking.....

·
Registered
900 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
great website shoebox! I feel confident enough to do this now.

·
Registered
1,070 Posts
I'm kind of old school when it comes to adjusting valves. I like to have the lifter in the dead center of the base circle when setting lifter preload. I turn the engine so that the valve that is exactly opposite of the one that I am adjusting is at peak lift.

The easiest way for the first-timer to do that is to take the firing order and write it out like so:

1-8-4-3
6-5-7-2

Then, to find the valve exactly opposite of the one you're adjusting, you simply find the cylinder either directly above or below (in your list) the one you're adjusting and put that valve at peak lift.

Example: If you're adjusting the #1 exhaust valve, you look at the list you made and you see that #6 is directly below #1. So you turn the engine so that the #6 exhaust valve is at peak lift. this will put your #1 exhaust lifter in the exact middle of the base circle, where you can properly adjust it.

As far as adjusting them, I use 3/4 turn on a stock rocker (1.5:1) and rocker stud (3/8-24).

·
Premium Member
5,014 Posts