LS1LT1 Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I have a 94 Z28 Camaro. I bought a Pioneer DEH-X9500BHS head unit and would like to install it this afternoon. Currently there is a Kenwood aftermarket Head Unit (The one with only a CD receiver) that was there when I bought the car. My question is, do I have to re-wire anyhing or will it simply be just unplug the kenwood and plug in the Pioneer? I know it's more to go from stock to aftermarket, but what about aftermarket Kenwood to aftermarket Pioneer? And if you have any tips I would love to hear. This is my first time doing any wiring in a car or any audio stuff. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,092 Posts
Hello, I have a 94 Z28 Camaro. I bought a Pioneer DEH-X9500BHS head unit and would like to install it this afternoon. Currently there is a Kenwood aftermarket Head Unit (The one with only a CD receiver) that was there when I bought the car. My question is, do I have to re-wire anyhing or will it simply be just unplug the kenwood and plug in the Pioneer? I know it's more to go from stock to aftermarket, but what about aftermarket Kenwood to aftermarket Pioneer? And if you have any tips I would love to hear. This is my first time doing any wiring in a car or any audio stuff. Thanks.
you'll have to rewire the stereo. most likely (cross your fingers) the person who put the last stereo in used a wiring harness adaptor and left the factory wiring alone. if this is the case, you just unplug that wiring harness from the factory plug, then cut the wires between it and the old pioneer radio connector, and then wire your new kenwood wiring harness to it and plug it back into the factory wiring harness. if he hacked up the factory wiring.... good luck to you, you're gonna need it, lol.