LS1LT1 Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 97 T/A 107,885 on the clock it has developed abnormal fuel trims the cheap scanner I have says my Ltft1 is 25% and my Ltft2 is 50% this is at idle also its reading 3.2 under load. it is super rich u can literally smell the gas coming from the exhaust its had the EGR deleted, Lt headers, CAI and the o2s are relatively new im no mechanic so any help diagnosising this issue would be greatly appreciated also im new to the fourm so hey everyone

·
Global Moderator
13,611 Posts
Was the pcm reprogramed for the long tube headers? If no, it needs to be. Here's a link to a good lt1 tunerwww.lt1pcmtuning.com

Next is to go back and scan again. While running pay attention to pre cat O2 readings. They should be jumping above & below the 450mv center line on a regular basis.

Put a fuel pressure gauge on fuel rail. Do key on prime. Pressure should be around 43 psi. Start engine and idle it. Pressure should be in mid 30's psi with vacuum line removed and blocked from pressure regulator. Drive car with gauge taped to windshield. Except for idle pressure should maintain at about 40 psi. If your pressure is too high, that can cause an over rich mixture.

Have you replaced the fuel filter & air filter? If no, do this.

You might need to check for clogged fuel injectors. This involves pulling fuel rail up & out of engine, high enough that you can see injectors spray. Have assistant crank engine while you watch for a good injector spray pattern.

ALWAYS have a FIRE EXTINGUISHER on hand, just in case. Have catch cans under each injector to catch fuel. And disconnect coil wire from coil. We don't want you burning yourself, or car up. Also when injectors are pulled out of engine, you will need new o-rings.

Finally, heres a link to 96 factory service manual. Your 97 will share 99% of info with 96.www.mediafire.com/?40mfgeoe4ctti

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·