LS1LT1 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
As I sit on the side of the road waiting for a flatbed.my car started to spit and sputter eventually stopped all together and I can't help but wonder is this the opti problem everybody talks about.I was going 65 in 6th gear and boom ses light stall then coast to a stop,then no start.it did a small backfire early in the day.since then HEAVY RAIN.any input?I was a Pontiac tech in 95 but lt1's were new to 4g's we never had issues with the opti unless it got wet.the car has 105k on it

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
Mine did the same thing when my wife and kids had the car while I was deployed. It sputtered, loss power and stalled. Only this time it restarted but only once. The high resolution signal ended up taking a leave of absence. Its a good chance that its the option. Many users have experienced the same symptoms but as Shoebox said it could still be anything. Do you have anymore info?

·
Global Moderator
13,431 Posts
Get an obd1 scanner and scan for codes. 3 of the ignition codes don't light the ses. Have you tried starting car after engine cooled off. Icm fails when hot many times and works again when car cools down. Talke icm to auto parts store for testing. Insist they run several extra test cycles because of tendency to fail when hot.

Go to sticky threads of this section and open the diagnosing the optispark thread. Watch video run tests. shbox.com also has opti tests and coil also.

Have you checked to see if spark is present. Use a loading type spark tester, as it simulates combustion pressures found in the cylinder.

If good spark, you might want to check fuel pressure with a gauge for the proper 41 psi or above at key on prime.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)