LS1LT1 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 97 formula with high miles. It runs fine but needs a good tune. Anyways I was planning on putting a new ignition system on it cause A) i hear some bad things bout the opti spark and B) im sure a new one wouldnt hurt, especially a car with 150000 miles on it. I'm still new to the whole car modifying scene so i was wondering if one of you guys with more experience could point me to a good ignition system. Let me know of any you guys would recommend, and also how much would a good one cost? thanks

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
O and also how hard would it be to install an ignition myself?

·
Founder
7,472 Posts
Do NOT put an MSD or similar aftermarket box on an optispark equipped car....its the best way to kill the opti.

Check into the Delteq Opti-Direct system or LTCC opti eliminator.

·
Registered
98 Posts
your best bet is either a cap and rotor manufactured ny summit for $130 and an oem optical spark sensor, or the entire distributor from GM performance that you can get from thunderracing. The gm performance parts one is a good deal it already has the sensor with it. I would personally go with a stock coil because aftermarket idnition parts tend to mess up the opti. If you are considering doing plug wires too do them at the same time, and if you decide on wires like accel 8 mm they are great the only problem is fouting them behind the powersteering pump like the factory setup because they wont fit into the stock clips, which makes it a chore.