LS1LT1 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, have a ‘96 TA with a rebuilt LT1. Bought the car in April and have been slowly replacing and updating on the car. Did the plugs last week, PITA by the way, and no issues. Today I’m driving on the highway and hear it running rough out of no where. Quarter mile later I get the service engine soon. I put the reader on it and I’m getting multiple misfires on 5&6 only. Any ideas? New plugs and driven about 100 miles on them. I’m new to the LT1 so any help would be appreciated

·
Registered
40 Posts
My first bet would be to double check the plug wires. When I first bought my 97 Formula, I had number 6 vibrate off after about 2 weeks. Misfire out of nowhere. Slipped it back on, and I havent had that problem come back on.

As a heads up, resist the urge to blame the Optispark for everything. While it can be the cause of some problems, taking the time out to properly diagnose it will save you time, frustration, and money. To do that, you will need an Oscilloscope. PC based ones can be had for around $70, and will let you see if the Opti is sending the proper square wave signals.

shbox.com has a ton of useful information, including some diagnostics for the Opti, as well as a ton of other common issues with the LT1.

P.S. Welcome to the forum, and I hope you are enjoying your new TA!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you much, it was just odd to me that 5 and 6 hit, I’ll check the plugs out tomorrow. Ty!

·
Global Moderator
13,559 Posts
Try misting the plug wires with some water from a spray bottle. Run engine at night and look for spark leakage.

You changed the plugs, what about plug wires, opti cap & rotor. These are things that wear out and need to be changed from time to time. And word of advice, buy only GM, Delco, or Delphi cap & rotor.