LS1LT1 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
How To Remove A.I.R. On LT1 With Pics

I did a lot of searching for a good how-to on this and never found one with pics. I found one for LS1 with pics, but it looks like they have it easier than we do. So if something already exists, I apologize for the duplication. Hopefully someone will get some use from this.

Also, I am no expert at this. I just did it using what I had learned from other posts. If anyone sees something that could make this easier, or spots something I did wrong, don’t hesitate to post up or pm me and I will edit the posts.

Things you will need:

¼”, 3/8”, and ½” drive rachets
Sockets for 10mm, 12mm, 14mm, 15mm, 19mm, and 1 inch.
Dremel tool with cutoff wheels
Wire snips
(2) either M18x1.5 or M22x1.5 oil drain plugs – Supposedly the 93-95’s take the M22 and the 96-97 take the M18. Mine is a 96 and M18 was a little too small, so be prepared.
(1) 3/16” rubber vacuum plug (I bought a vacuum plug assortment at O’Reillys
Electrical tape
Crescent wrench
Flathead screwdriver
Cell phone

Some of the instructions below will have to be modified for use with ram-air cars. Sorry, I can’t help with that, but maybe you can put the missing pieces in place.

Also, if you have a 95 or earlier, a few things might be different, such as the opti vent tube may not be there. I don’t remember if the vented optis started in 95 or 96. Mine is a 96 TA.

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Let’s get started.

Remove your air filter box. I had a K&N cai on mine, so I don’t have pictures of removing the stock airbox. If you have a cai on yours, you probably already know how to remove it. The little hose that runs from near your filter box and curves down will need to be removed. This feeds the air pump and will no longer be needed.