LS1LT1 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't want to ramble on forever so I'll try to make this short. Essentially I bought a roller firebird that came with the engine out of it and disassembled for pretty cheap. Problem is I've never built an engine in my life. I owned a 89 firebird before this and I've been working on cars for a couple years so I'm not completely lost but if someone could volunteer to take my inevitable mountain of questions and offer basic advice, kinda like a mentor, would be very grateful. I already have questions to ask so feel free to message me any time. Have a great day!

·
Global Moderator
13,611 Posts
Ask away, I'll try to answer your questions.

However, rebuilding an engine requires specialty tools that most back yard mechanics don't have. My suggestion would be to take the engine to a machine shop. Let them do the reboring & honing of cylinders. They will disassemble engine, clean it and do the required machine work.

They will replace cam bearings, order new oversized pistons & rings. Then recondition the connecting rods. They will clean & measure the crankshaft bearing surfaces to see if crank needs to be turned down & oversized bearing used. If crank is good, then new standard main & rod bearings can be used.

In case your willing to undertake the job yourself, here are some of the tools you'll need. Torque wrench, piston ring plyers, ring compressor, ridge reamer, honing tool, dial bore gauge with measurement down to 1 ten thousand of an inch.

You will also need an engine stand & a cherry picker or block & tackle to get engine trans assembly back in car.

To help you decide, go to following link where we have the 93-96 factory service manuals. Read the engine section & see if you have what it takes to do the job. www.mediafire.com/?40mfgeoe4ctti

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ask away, I'll try to answer your questions.