LS1LT1 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
yep I got a new project. Its a 93 z28 with an lt1... its automatic. It has a 98 front clip on it, and it needs alot of work. I am new to the lt1 scene, I am an old school sbc guy, but the lt1 is where its at! I have some learning to do, I have been reading alot online, and am planning to order some literature. I found a few books and obviously I need to get a good shop manual such as chiltons. If you guys want to recommend me some good build books Id surely appreciate it.

The motor in this car does run. It seems like it runs pretty ok... The oil pressure doesnt impress me, its probably somewhere around 30 pounds. It has an oil leak, which I cant tell for sure, but Im thinking is the rear main seal. it has the little flywheel cover between the transmission and engine, and there is a little hole in it, and the oil is leaking out of the hole. The motor really does not seem super strong as far as when you step on it. Although im sure that it needs a lot of tuning up I think it could use a rebuild, I need to do some compression tests but I cant decide if I should just yank the motor and transmission and plan on rebuilding both while their out, or If I should just pull the tranny, replace the rear main seal, and then put the tranny back in... and try to tune this girl up. the opti was already replaced, and the spark plugs also are new. I could go through it but I really just dont know the best way to wake this girl up.... Whats yall recommendations?

·
Registered
131 Posts
picked this up at a car show iv seen it on the internet it really helped and tells how you can convert to carb if you chose so welcome to the forums

·
Registered
131 Posts
sorry for the big picture idk how to resize lol if your not sure, try to get it running good before you do too much work its gonna be real hard to tell you what we think if were not there to see the motor run/leak etc. any pictures of the car?