LS1LT1 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 294 Posts

·
Registered
610 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This thread covers my heads and cam swap, my battery relocation, fuel pump swap, appearance add-ons, SJM ABS Delete, suspension parts, and other stuff.

This is my first time REALLY working on a 4th gen. I take pride in my work.

My hands are sore and don't work sometimes, but I still keep going. Hey, I'm only 40!!

Also, below is a link to my ltxtech.com writeup on my Strano/Bilstein swap front and rear, along with Strano 35/22 hollow sway bars, all new bushings, Rack Doctor manual steering rack, relocated alternator, Founders LCA relocation brackets, new rear end, and motor mount inserts.

Hope someone enjoys this as much as I do :)

Install Info: Strano Springs/Bilstein SLP Shocks and Rear End Upgrades.

Here's my Spintech muffler that arrived today: polished stainless steel....it is one solid muffler, let me tell ya. And NO, Spintechs do not flow like crap. They are awesome.

·
Registered
610 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Small but cool stuff.

I managed to forget to install a bushing on the driver's side lower control arm. It's the one that is at the front and cups over the sleeve.

I realized I forgot this bushing, after I had the whole driver's side together and after I did the passenger side and saw an extra bushing in the box :mad:

My engine is about ready to be pulled, and then I will do the heads and cam swap.

Pulling the balancer hub was a PITA, and the hub and pulley would not separate from each other, for some reason. Also, someone drilled a larger hole and tapped new threads in the crank snout, and the bolt goes in crooked. Don't think that will really matter, though.

Finally got my battery relocated to the rear and the terminals barely go onto the battery. I lucked out with the dimensions and where I mounted the tray. Finally, something worked out well.