LS1LT1 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am trying to gather all my bolt ons/parts together so this summer I can throw them in and get a tune. what would be the best mods?

car will just be used for street racing and maybe a trip to the drag. I already have longtubes and a ypipe in my garage. any suggestions? im hoping for around 350rwhp after tune (if possible)

·
Global Moderator
13,437 Posts
I'm not a performance expert but if I had your goals I'd start with long tube headers, cat back exhaust or true duals.

Better intake system.

Then move to a high performance cam, new valve springs, full roller rocker arms usin a 7/16 rocker stud, the non self aligning type. Then rocker studs, hardened push rods, guide plates for the push rods.

If your feeling froggy, you could even port and polish the cylinder heads and intake. Our member viper has some good info on home porting.

·
Registered
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have a moroso CAI on it right now. I can put roller rockers on a stock cam?

how do hardened pushrods work? just curious.

if you have any experience with cams let me know. I don't want anything really aggressive cuz its going to be a daily driver.

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
Just do all the free mods. Anything else is kinda a waste without supporting mods.

·
Banned
489 Posts
Cutouts?

Funny to learn cutouts are a good bang for the buck. I tried a google of LT1 bolts ons and read something like 14hp for $45. Hope they don't leak.:lol:
Anyways try google for yourself and theres plenty to read for the LT1. David Emanuel has a few LT1 combos in his book and John Lingenfelter got 450hp from a 383 LT1 through stock exh manifolds. TPIS has a new book out on the LT1 but it next on my list to read.

Read up and good luck,
cardo

·
Registered
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·