LS1LT1 Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm relatively new to engine building and are looking for advice on parts and realistic performance expectations on a budget. Currently I have a 1994 Trans that is mostly stock, the only thing that isn't is a magnaflow catback system. Currently my car has 134,000 miles, I store it from late October to late April as I live in Michigan, and drive it 2000 - 2500 miles a year. Also, I don't drive my car very hard, it has only been rev'd to 5000 RPMs at most and usually is driven up to 3600 RPMs on a regular basis. It is my daily driver and is an automatic.

My goal is to get up to 350 flywheel horsepower (280 rwhp assuming a 20% power loss). My budget for this build is $2300 for parts, currently I'm unable to do any mods myself so I would have to take it to a shop unless my friend can help me. Parts I am considering are:

PaceSetter LTs (does it matter if they have a smog/egr system hook-up?)
Roller rockers (1.6 RR probably)
Rocker studs
Springs
Lifters
Pushrods
Guide plates
Spark plugs and wires (they work fine now, but I don't know when they were last changed)

I'm not entirely sure what to go with regarding to;
Camshaft
Fuel Injectors (particularly the size for his build)
Throttle body (if necessary)

I'd like to do a LE1 setup but probably don't have the budget for it right now.

Would my budget be enough to cover these parts? I figure to install these parts it would cost me $4000 total. Any advice on what parts to use is greatly appreciated or if you've done a similar build that works too. Thanks.

·
Global Moderator
13,167 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

Pacesetter headers are a pretty good budget brand, but the ebay special stainless steel long tubes give more bang for the buck.

Le1 heads will put you way over your budget, but are a good power maker if you can afford them. Lloyd Elliott can give you advice on the heads, cam, springs, etc.