LS1LT1 Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry this is going to read like a book. I was a diesel mechanic in the late 1980’s and OBD systems were out while I was in school, so I have some tech skills. Lol
**My son US ARMY has a stock 1994 Firebird TA GT auto trans - 58,000 miles,.We bought the car in 2021 from a mechanic with a new water pump installed. After driving car for 500 miles we heard ignition detonation knock under hard throttle. After reading this forum I thought Opti was bad and replaced it. I got from Autozone with lifetime warranty car ran perfect with new one. Because of Covid no good ones you guys spoke of were available (Petris) 3 months after replacing I got email from Petris saying they were available, just a bit late. Kid took the car DEC 2021 to North Carolina from Wisconsin with no problems.
**May 2022 Son was discharged to go to West Point so I drove car home for him. North Carolina to Wisconsin, car ran great 25mpg and no problems. A 2 weeks later he’s driving & engine started loosing power after it warmed up, car was Non Operable at this point. I took it out for a drive a few times after it sat overnight multiple times. Car started and ran great for a few minutes then a couple blocks from my house the thing just lost all power 15mph max and goes funny shifting. I've read 100+ posts, watched YouTube videos but can’t seem to find issue.
**OK so the story changed a bit - things got worse -Car did runs great when cold, could spin wheels. Even when car is warmed up it did idle perfect, when in park you could rev engine. It did not miss or backfire.
**SEPT 2022 OK so a little change in problem, I just fired up the car after 2 months of sitting. It started fine but 2 minutes into running it won't go over 1800rpms and stinks out the tailpipe. It sounds like a diesel - not like rod knock just a bit out of time and doesn’t idle good - bad miss firing.