LS1LT1 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I have a 1996 trans am t-top car leather auto. What I can find about doing the research is I'm the 2nd owner. So I run the vin and it tells me a trans am but from what I can find it has the grid taillights? Is this common for the 96 lt1. She has 104 thousand but has had quiet a bit done internal just not looks wise other than wheels. I bought all new upolstery for her since the leather was busted in front buckets but the previous owner got cloth to replace! New taillights are expensive but a must so was just wandering why the grid? Because a post said they were "rare". Im new at this but always loved this car (dreamer) what year did a ws6 come out?? In all reality is hope to find one next!

·
Global Moderator
13,268 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

Trans am 4th gen used 2 different styles of taillights during the run. 93-97 used the grid style. Standard firebird & formula used a plain taillight.While all 98 to 02 firebirds used the honeycomb style.

While neither style of taillight is rare in itself, finding new sets to replace your old ones is getting harder to find every day.

ws6 came out for 4th gens in 96. This could be order for both trans am & formula. All factory ws6 cars came with a single hoiod scope for 96-97. And a double scope hood for 98-02

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3