LS1LT1 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 97 firebird trans am had problems yesterday due to the heavy rain &freezing ice ,it drove fine leaving from work,but it started to misfire,( my check engine light would flash) it puddered and vibrated sitting at stop lights,I thought that it was gonna stop running, but it made it home.After a while I went to start it up to see if anything changed for the better,Nothing. A few hours later my wife called me from her job because she locked her keys in her car,so I came out with the spare key,car ran fine there and back (the rain had slacked up alot by then) could the rain have something to do with this? I'm puzzled but not worried,I love this car and will get it fixed at any cost. Please someone give me some advice because I'm new to lt1's.

·
Premium Member
5,014 Posts
you'll have to do some checks (find out what that check engine light is, for starters)

moisture and igntion systems don't get along

probably the opti, though. it might clear up.

if there's a whole bunch of condensation in the air, some of it can get drawn into the opti vent tube (or into the opti itself, if the seals are poor). sometimes once that moisture vacuums itself out, it's ok again. but i bet there's an opti replacement in your future.

if your spark plug wires are bad, and they get covered in moisture, they can arc and misfire as well...

·
Registered
449 Posts
I know when it would rain or be alot moisture in the air mycar would run like crap. The thing is ur optis vented when mine isnt. See if u can retrieve the codes that came up

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·