new tunerpro XDF for LT1 - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-26-2013, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver Isl., BC
Posts: 5,011
 
new tunerpro XDF for LT1

for anyone tuning their lt1 with tunerpro,

i'm going to clean up, comment, categorize, and add some necessary stuff to the XDF for EE.

since half the damn bin is transmission parameters, putting them all into their own category makes browsing around the xdf much easier. i also seperated all the error code switches.

i've also added (obviously should be considered beta):

- blm locker as a patch (no more seperate exe)
- block learn mode and crankcase purge enable coolant temperature
- cl mode vs maf afgs, and O2 rich/lean threshold vs. cl mode. yes, you can now tune closed loop part throttle AFR with tunerpro, like tunercat guys have been doing for years

i hope someone finds it useful. i'll be adding more soon

http://resfilter.net/files/carstuff/EEX/EEX_1a.zip
steveo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-29-2013, 01:12 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver Isl., BC
Posts: 5,011
 
i'll be adding more options as i find them:

resfilter.net - /carstuff/EEX

this thing is going to have some really unique tuning options when i'm done with it, might be a nice toy to have

it can be used alongside tunercat too, they use the same file format..
steveo is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-29-2013, 08:40 PM
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 12,743
 
Since tunerpro and tunercat use the same file format, does that mean that bin files from tunerpro can be transfered to tunercat. And those bin files will work in tunercat to add other cars to the ecm drop down.
cocobolo95 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-29-2013, 09:30 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver Isl., BC
Posts: 5,011
 
not quite

bin files are the actual program (and sets of variables) that you upload/download from the ECM.

the drop down ECM menu in tunercat selects what you'd call a 'definition' file. that tells tunercat or tunerpro what parameters are in the bin, where they are located, how to convert all the math, how they're organized, etc.

tunercat uses a .tdf file for their definitions. tunerpro uses an .adx. they're completely different. the .adx that tunerpro uses is actually quite a bit more detailed.

with a good .adx in tunerpro, tuning is just as painless as with tunercat or lt1edit, in fact i've been able to organize things much more nicely than tunercat, which kind of just throws it all into a menu.

but you can take a bin you work with in tunercat, edit it more in tunerpro if you like, and then bring it back to tunercat no problem, as the bin file itself, and the data in it (which is the actual program that your car runs on) is the same. in fact so is lt1edit's .LT1 format, but there's a technical reason why they wont work directly.
steveo is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-29-2013, 09:31 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver Isl., BC
Posts: 5,011
 
just grab tunerpro (the non-RT version), it's free.. install my ADX file, select it, and play with your tune.. get a feel for it. it's a good program

.. with the latest version, of course... http://resfilter.net/files/carstuff/EEX/EEX_1c.zip

i make updates every few days
steveo is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-29-2013, 09:49 PM
Regular Member
 
terminal_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK England
Posts: 488
 
That's what I did last year when i was tuning my cam swap before I killed it.
TunerPro was easier to edit the files with.

Just need to finish my rebuild before I forget everything i learnt last year.
Thanks Steveo for the updates.

Mitch

Terminal Crazy
'95 Z28 M6
Lancashire England
"just the odd mod."
terminal_crazy is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-29-2013, 10:34 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver Isl., BC
Posts: 5,011
 
steveo is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-02-2013, 11:35 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver Isl., BC
Posts: 5,011
 
steveo is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-03-2013, 11:27 AM
Regular Member
 
BLK95TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lehigh Acres, FL
Posts: 1,092
 
why wouldn't you want the RT version? the 10 second "lag" screen isn't a big deal since you have to wait a few seconds for the car's obd1 port initialize anyway. i like the fact i can have real time datalogging in RT (which i don't think the regular Tunerpro offers?)


1995 Black TA A4 LT1
Mods: MSD cap and rotor, MSD wires, NGK plugs, K&N filter, 17" corvette GS replica's, Ram Air box and hood, 3.42 gears
BLK95TA is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-03-2013, 11:27 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver Isl., BC
Posts: 5,011
 
tunerpro and tunerpro RT are the exact same program, except RT has datalogging and emulating (the emulating is a chip thing, LT1s dont use it)

to be clear this adx file works equally well in tunerpro and tunerpro RT
steveo is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-03-2013, 11:44 PM
Regular Member
 
BLK95TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lehigh Acres, FL
Posts: 1,092
 
oh ok cool. i thought the realtime datalogging was the main difference between Tunerpro and RT but i wasn't sure. I'm new to this whole tuning thing as i've only had the cable and software for a few weeks and other than changing my speedometer calibration, i haven't really done anything other than a few datalogs. I'll have to try out the new file the next time i decide to bring the laptop back out.


1995 Black TA A4 LT1
Mods: MSD cap and rotor, MSD wires, NGK plugs, K&N filter, 17" corvette GS replica's, Ram Air box and hood, 3.42 gears

Last edited by BLK95TA; 09-03-2013 at 11:47 PM.
BLK95TA is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 03:10 AM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
 
Does it’s have a section to change tire size and gear ratio? Looking to change a few things in my tune
Nick Humphries is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome