how well does a hypertech tuner work on a ls1 - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-03-2005, 11:29 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 143
 
how well does a hypertech tuner work on a ls1

the title says it all. performance wise is there anything significant about them?
LS1Insyde is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-03-2005, 06:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 612
 
don't waste your money. if you must go handheld, go with the crane. it would be better to get a professional dynotune or get HPTuners.
Phoenix57 is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-03-2005, 07:08 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 96
 
Put it this way, a real dynotune will cost just as much as that little programmer, go get a dynotune. I've actually seen people go slower with the hypercrap on their car...
BoltOnZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-04-2005, 03:40 AM
Regular Member
 
Jaberwaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Martinsburg WV
Posts: 1,190
 
hpp3=junk

"YEH THOUGH I WALK THROUGH THE VALLEY OF RICE, I SHALL FEAR NO TURBO....FOR TORQUE ART WITH ME..."


The 408 is in and if you aint running 10's.......
YOU STILL WANTS NONE
Jaberwaki is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-04-2005, 08:14 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 143
 
well i was thinkin about getting the software for the ls1edit but its kinda expensive for me but i guess it would be worth it if i learned how to use it. maybe a good christmas present idea from santa.
LS1Insyde is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-04-2005, 08:49 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 72
 
Junk, every handheld I've ever dealt with is complete junk. 400.00 for a HH or 450.00-500.00 for HP Tuners/Edit/TunerCAT. Many tuning options out there and a handheld is not one.
QWKWS6 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-09-2005, 01:35 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 27
 
IMHO Hypertech Power Programer is expensive junk. My 02 had a HPP sticker on the door when I bought it used from a dealership (6 months ago). 1st time I went for a full throttle upshift it stumbled really bad at around 5500. Other than that it ran fine. One of my friends has HPTuners (full suite) and licenses for 2000 & 2001 (he has an 01 WS6). I had him check what was wrong with my car. Turns out someone had set upshift at 6400 and rev limiter at 5500 (HPP reflash?). I ended up buying a license for 2002. When it arrived, he retuned/adjusted everything that needed it. We ran the car at full throttle on a freeway onramp data logging while driving. After adjusting things 4 or 5 times the car ran awsomely! Good as a dynotune? In short, no, but now I can adjust for gear ratio (when I do 3.73's), tire size (if I do tires/rims), delete/adjust codes for when I delete AIR and rear O2's when I do headears, etc., etc.

Last edited by 67RSSS; 10-09-2005 at 01:45 AM.
67RSSS is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-21-2005, 09:33 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 40
 
i would definitly stay away from hypertech...there are guys in your area that will do full tunes for less $
foff667 is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-21-2005, 09:59 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10
 
Save your money and get a decent tune..
apachedrill is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-24-2005, 11:30 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 105
 
so most of these handheld tuners are junk...thats what i thought
quiet_storm98 is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-24-2005, 10:24 PM
Regular Member
 
Jaberwaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Martinsburg WV
Posts: 1,190
 
thats right... you got it...
Jaberwaki is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-25-2005, 03:03 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 105
 
so where can i get a tune around here in VA??
quiet_storm98 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-25-2005, 04:41 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 35
 
Me and bryan are going to be in VA beach dyno tuning next weekend.
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-26-2005, 06:41 PM
Regular Member
 
CamTom12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Woodlawn, TN
Posts: 1,934
 
Send a message via AIM to CamTom12
We pulled the hypertech tune off of a car on the dyno (back to stock tune) and it gained power.

That's all I have to say about that

--Cameron

1992 Ford Probe Because its Faster Than My T/A
H/C


CamTom12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome