Urgent optispark change/issue - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 08:49 PM Thread Starter

optispark change/issue

so my optispark gave out a couple weeks ago on my 93 z28. I ordered the msd one off jegs for 93-94. this is my first time changing one by myself, years back when I was just getting into cars I helped change one with my dad on his 95 impala. anyway I took my old one off to find that the spline part is on the engine. but when I look there is a spline on the optispark. how is this possible and what do I do? I also noticed taking off the opti that it had a vented cap. not sure if its just a cap or the whole system was converted but figure id throw that info in there.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 07:18 AM
Global Moderator

Your original 93-94 opti has a removable male spline-ed shaft that connects female spline-ed holes on original opti and cam gear. The MSD opti comes with a built in male spline-ed shaft that fits into the female splines of cam gear.

Your problem is; when you removed old opti, the male splined shaft remained installed in cam gear. You need to pull the shaft out of timing cover so male spline-ed shaft of MSD opti will go in.

Do your self a favor and look closely at the splines at end of MSD opti shaft. There is a small keyway that must be matched with a small keyway on female spline-ed hole in cam gear. For a pic of it, go to shbox.com
# 53 in component view section.

Do your selft another favor and change the small seals on timing cover where opti goes in & waterpump goes in. And drive a plastic vacuum fitting into the weep hole in water pump. attach tubing to fitting. Next time wp seal fails, opti won't get a bath.

I'd also get a new wp, unless your old one is nearly new.

Last edited by cocobolo95; 06-24-2019 at 07:21 AM.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 12:31 PM Thread Starter

Quote: