Question 1994 corvette LT1 engine into 1967 nova - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-07-2018, 03:05 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
 
1994 corvette LT1 engine into 1967 nova

Hey guys new to the forum.
I bought a LT1 out of an 1994 corvette. Iím putting the engine into my nova and I having trouble finding out what kind of wiring harness I will need. I will have an 700r trans and after market gauges ( Fuel, oil pressure, Temp, speed,rpm) can some help point me in the right direction.
Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ronnieevans1515 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 07:55 AM
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 12,669
 
Best way to buy the lt1 engine is with engine wiring harness and pcm. That way half the battle is over. Even though the 94 used the electronic computer controlled 4L60E trans, converting to the 700r4 would simply mean tuning the 4L60E functions out of the pcm.

You would also need the throttle body and TV cable from a 92 or 93 lt1 engine. This will make swap easier for you. BUT using a 94 4L60E, would make the swap even easier.

Look on craigslist for engine wiring harness & pcm. You can use the 94 z28, formula, or trans am harness & computer also.

And welcome to the forum.

Last edited by cocobolo95; 12-08-2018 at 08:02 AM.
cocobolo95 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 09:47 AM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
 
Thanks.
I already bought and rebuild the 700r. My pcm came out of 6 speed manual. Does it make a difference ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ronnieevans1515 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-09-2018, 07:25 AM
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 12,669
 
Yes, the manual trans pcm programing doesn't have any provision for the lockup function of the torque converter. And I think the 700R4 trans has several switches and sensors that communicate with computer. Different year 700r4 will have different switches & senders.

The newer the 700R4 is, the more data gets sent to the computer. I don't know if these are absolutely necessary or not. Just the torque converter lock up is.
cocobolo95 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome