Countach Replica with LT1 - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-13-2013, 11:09 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2
 
Countach Replica with LT1

Guys new to the forum, have some issues with my LT1 (out of a 93 Camaro). Not sure if I have a main seal leak or oil pan. I also get some unusual surging of revs with the ac on coming to a stop. Hear are some pics I'll post the questions in the appropriate place.


88countach is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 12:38 AM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 57
 
Wow, that's pretty sweet! What is the actual donor car? ( i know motor but body etc? )
justinkp is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 12:50 AM
Regular Member
 
steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver Isl., BC
Posts: 4,979
 
you actually did a swap and plumbed in the a/c??

consider me impressed it works at all, i would have thrown all that stuff out

i'm sure we can figure that out, though, if you tell us exactly how you did the wiring
steveo is offline  
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 08:21 AM
Regular Member
 
2cat95TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 753
 
That thing is awesome, engine pics?

95 Trans Am A4, factory 3.23s, Ram air, Phab catback, shift kit, BMR front and rear sway bars, Lakewood LCA's, UMI subframe connectors, Random Tech TA, Founder's Performance strut tower brace and PHR
99 Saturn sl2 M5, 92 header-daily driver

2cat95TA is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 11:26 AM
10 Second Opti Club
 
sweetbmxrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 6,720
 
Definitely cool shit right there, props!


Quote:
Originally Posted by ShowNoMercy View Post
this is the internet, take it to seriously and you won't get out alive.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=iPMmW3giQQc
sweetbmxrider is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 12:59 PM
Regular Member
 
lababy78ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 471
 
Amazing lol its so cool man pls more pics !!

Sent from my SPH-D710 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
lababy78ta is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 01:03 PM
Regular Member
 
974rw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: East TN
Posts: 66
 
Awesome ride! What chassic did you use?

94 Z-28 Camaro 6 Speed, 4:10 richmond, ultimate girdle, k&n cai, msd rotor and cap , 8mm wires, Flowmaster, 160 thermostat, m55A oil pump, cat, air, and egr delete

94 toyota pickup DD

"Its not a hot rod if its got payments"
974rw is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 01:10 PM
Regular Member
 
Nickv96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Eagan
Posts: 915
 
That thing is just plain awesome. Sorry to hear your having issues but we'll see if we can help ya through them. Also more pics please.

1996 Z28-
Nickv96 is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 06:19 PM
Regular Member
 
88.5countach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
 
Thanks for the koodoo's guys but let me explain. I wanted to build it when I was in my 20's, didn't work out so I kept with the kit industry until I could buy a complete one. This was pro. built in Canada. He's a link to my website on the car. It has the full story of how I got hooked and, spec,s photo's and videos so you can hear a wide open exhaust note from the LT1.

https://sites.google.com/site/lambor...untachreplica/

88.5countach is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 07:13 PM
Regular Member
 
steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver Isl., BC
Posts: 4,979
 
pretty cool for a kit car!

thinking about your a/c problem; it's kind of a weird one, if it's just on decel. i wonder if it's possible that the builder didn't connect a VSS (vehicle speed sensor) from your trans to your ecm, perhaps just hooked it right up to whatever speedo he used..
steveo is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 07:31 PM
Regular Member
 
95 Firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: McDonough, GA
Posts: 562
 
Makes me want to build a kit car now. Very nice!

1995 Firehawk #528 resto-mod underway

Planned 383 rebuild: 195cc competition LT4 AFR heads, custom cam grind (still debating specs), 6" or 5.85" rods, forged internals

Upgraded T56: Viper mainshaft and 2nd gear, steel 3/4 shift fork, Billet keys 1-4, bronze shifter cup, internals Cryo'd and REM'd
95 Firehawk is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 07:33 PM
Regular Member
 
88.5countach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveo View Post
pretty cool for a kit car!

thinking about your a/c problem; it's kind of a weird one, if it's just on decel. i wonder if it's possible that the builder didn't connect a VSS (vehicle speed sensor) from your trans to your ecm, perhaps just hooked it right up to whatever speedo he used..
Thanks, I've had the car for 3 years and each years a little worse. About 25,000miles on the engine, wondering if its a vacuum leak?
88.5countach is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 07:35 PM
Regular Member
 
steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver Isl., BC
Posts: 4,979
 
doubt it, but never hurts to get a bottle of propane and wave it around the engine while it's running, that finds vac leaks pretty quickly
steveo is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 07:45 PM
Regular Member
 
88.5countach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveo View Post
pretty cool for a kit car!

thinking about your a/c problem; it's kind of a weird one, if it's just on decel. i wonder if it's possible that the builder didn't connect a VSS (vehicle speed sensor) from your trans to your ecm, perhaps just hooked it right up to whatever speedo he used..
The transmission is custom built (Richmond Transaxle), no sensors on it. It's progressively gotten worse. It is after decel say to a stop, through the clutch in and it starts to rev, from 500-1800rpm. Turn of the ac and blower and it calms down. Don't recall seeing anything hooked up to the speedo but could be wrong.
88.5countach is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 07:49 PM
Regular Member
 
88.5countach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveo View Post
you actually did a swap and plumbed in the a/c??

consider me impressed it works at all, i would have thrown all that stuff out

i'm sure we can figure that out, though, if you tell us exactly how you did the wiring
I'm getting caught up Steveo, behind on you messages, its actually a vintage air system on the ac, not the camaro unit.
88.5countach is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome