T56 slave cylinder Vs T5 slave cylinder? - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 01:41 AM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 307
 
T56 slave cylinder Vs T5 slave cylinder?

Hi guys,

When I put my lt1/t56 combo into my 84 Jag, i didn't think bleeding/getting the clutch to work would be my biggest problem :-(

I am using a Wilwood .75 master cylinder with a 1990 Camaro slave cylinder (1 inch bore). I had read that the 1990 Camaro slave was the same bore/stroke as the 1993 (the year of my t56), except that it had a bleeder nozzle.

However, I'm starting to feel like that is not the case -- i can barely get any clutch, and what clutch I have is incredibly stiff. Not only that, I blew my first slave cylinder. I'm starting to think that the bores are different between the two years, but I can't find any information on them. I must be moving too much fluid, but I don't see how that would be possible.

Can anyone confirm that the slaves are indeed the same -- or if they are different, what is the different bore size?

Any help would be great!

Tyler
tylerwerrin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 11:29 PM
Regular Member
 
skittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 312
 
I have the same issue, I'm running a 7/8ths willwood master and the metal camaro slave. I can't seem to get mine to bleed at all. The pedal will only move a few inches.

1976 Datsun 280Z w/94 LT1, WC T5
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iITQN2Z6cRM

No F-bdoy for me , 1k pounds lighter 2x as fast
skittle is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-19-2011, 12:24 AM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 307
 
are you using the t56 slave, or the 1990 t5 slave? I'm really perplexed at the whole thing -- i found that my stroke is actually less than i posted above -- its really only .75" or so -- have you tried bleeding with the mityvac? i think i'm gonna try that next -- either that, or craft a longer push rod...
tylerwerrin is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-25-2011, 05:55 PM
Regular Member
 
skittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 312
 
I endend up dropping my tranny to check how every thing is. I noticed that the clutch was not fully aligned correctly. I re-adjusted the clutch but can't get the tranny back in (i hate trying to benchpress it back into place).

1976 Datsun 280Z w/94 LT1, WC T5
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iITQN2Z6cRM

No F-bdoy for me , 1k pounds lighter 2x as fast
skittle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome