Security??? - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums
Presented by:

New User? Register
LS1 Forums Register Photo Gallery Tech/FAQ Members List Calendar Auto Loans Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance
Premium Membership Videos Perf Tools Mobile/iPhone Link to Us! Social Groups Follow LS1LT1 on Twitter


Go Back   LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums > Engine Tech > LT1 | LT4 | L99 Engine Tech

LS1LT1.com is the premier Pontiac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2013, 12:54 AM   #1
1ta
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: south georgia
Posts: 25
1ta user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default Security???

my 93 trans am wont even turn over now and the security light is flashing??? wat to do and help would be appreciated.
__________________
93 trans am lt1 6 spd 3.73 posi
1ta is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2013, 04:11 AM   #2
Regular Member
 
95 Firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: McDonough, GA
Posts: 562
95 Firehawk Apprentice Level Tech III
Default Security???

That's the VATS messing up. Read shoebox's VATS page for more detailed information.

If you need more direction after reading that, feel free to ask.
__________________
1995 Firehawk #528 resto-mod underway

Planned 383 rebuild: 195cc competition LT4 AFR heads, custom cam grind (still debating specs), 6" or 5.85" rods, forged internals

Upgraded T56: Viper mainshaft and 2nd gear, steel 3/4 shift fork, Billet keys 1-4, bronze shifter cup, internals Cryo'd and REM'd
95 Firehawk is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 06:29 PM   #3
1ta
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: south georgia
Posts: 25
1ta user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

so i just did a resistance check on my key resistor and its 0... im going to dealer tomoro to see about getting a new one for the car
__________________
93 trans am lt1 6 spd 3.73 posi
1ta is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 11:50 PM   #4
Regular Member
 
95 Firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: McDonough, GA
Posts: 562
95 Firehawk Apprentice Level Tech III
Default Security???

That would do it. You lucked out and got the easy fix.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
__________________
1995 Firehawk #528 resto-mod underway

Planned 383 rebuild: 195cc competition LT4 AFR heads, custom cam grind (still debating specs), 6" or 5.85" rods, forged internals

Upgraded T56: Viper mainshaft and 2nd gear, steel 3/4 shift fork, Billet keys 1-4, bronze shifter cup, internals Cryo'd and REM'd
95 Firehawk is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 01:18 PM   #5
1ta
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: south georgia
Posts: 25
1ta user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

Wrong still ain't doing nothing
1ta is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 06:32 PM   #6
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 9,583
cocobolo95 Tradesman Level Tech II
Default

If resistor trick doesn't work, there are 2 other methods. 1st would be to program out vats from your ecm. However, your 93 has a removeable chip that complicates programing.

2nd method would be to buy a bypass module that would send the 30 hertz fuel enable signal to the ecm. Your 93 uses a 30 hertz signal while 94 and newer use a 50 hertz signal.

You can buy a 30 hertz bypass module for $35 + shipping, from the following site. Baker Electronix - GM VATS Bypass

You will also have to manually bypass the tdr (theft deterrent relay) that is what is keeping the starter from working. It is up under the dash near the passenger airbag bracket. On the 93, for some reason, it's called the starter enable relay.

Once you find the tdr, it will have 2 large yellow wires, 1 large dark green wire, and 1 smaller yellow/black wire. If you cut the yellow/black wire and splice in another piece of wire going to a good ground, if tdr is good then starter will work.

www.shbox.com has the 93 starting and charging wiring diagram you will need.

Last edited by cocobolo95; 02-18-2013 at 06:42 PM.
cocobolo95 is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 06:58 PM   #7
1ta
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: south georgia
Posts: 25
1ta user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

Yeah we just jump started it and it cranked but I had to keep my foot on the peddle else it would shut off
1ta is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:12 PM   #8
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 9,583
cocobolo95 Tradesman Level Tech II
Default

In that case it's not a vats problem. It would not have cranked, nor would it run if vats was acting up.
cocobolo95 is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:50 PM   #9
1ta
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: south georgia
Posts: 25
1ta user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

Oooops not jump start lol push start ya no pull it behind something and dump the clutch in gear
1ta is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 07:58 AM   #10
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 9,583
cocobolo95 Tradesman Level Tech II
Default

The starter enable relay aka tdr could be acting up. As stated before, vats also cuts of fuel injectors so engine would not run for more than a second or two.
cocobolo95 is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 01:42 PM   #11
1ta
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: south georgia
Posts: 25
1ta user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

SHE lives !!!!!! Thank god for resistors ... It was my switch I just bypassed it
1ta is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


» Recommended
Find technical articles on a Chevy Corvette, including tips and tricks on a Chevy Camaro and expert advice for Pontiac Firebird, along with reviews on the Cadillac CTS.
» Auto Insurance
» Sponsors
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.5.2
Copyright © 2005 - 2011 by LS1LT1.com

Our Friends:


Illegal Street Racing | Super Cars | LT1 Tech Articles