94 LT1 missing at idle - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums
Presented by:

New User? Register
LS1 Forums Register Photo Gallery Tech/FAQ Members List Calendar Auto Loans Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance
Premium Membership Videos Perf Tools Mobile/iPhone Link to Us! Social Groups Follow LS1LT1 on Twitter


Go Back   LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums > Engine Tech > LT1 | LT4 | L99 Engine Tech

LS1LT1.com is the premier Pontiac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2012, 11:05 AM   #1
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
stport68 user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default 94 LT1 missing at idle

New to the forum and just bought my first LT1 in a 94 Camarao z-28 convert. I have been working on and rebuilding all gens of camaros for 20 years now and im at a loss for my issue. The car has 105k on miles. The car was running when i got it but it needed work. I replaced the orginal water pump , opti, wires, and plugs with all AC delco parts. I took out the injectors and flowtested them and cleaned them. While i was flowtesting them i found one that was different and was flowing half as much as the other ones. I think this may be part of my problem. The problem ,which im sure has been covered but have not found on here yet, is that when i start the car wether it is cold or hot , will have a miss at idle and can still feel it slightly as i increase my speed. IT is not backfiring nor is it dying on me . The idle is at 500RPM when it is warm and my fuel pressure is with in the specs it is suppose to be. It has a stock LT1 with the TB bypass mod cold air intake and a flowmaster muffler and new cat from what i can see.

So im thinking of replacing the injectors and the O2 sensors. I have rechecked all my wires and plugs. Im at a loss as what to check for getting rid of the miss i have PLEASE HELP i dont want my first LT1 to be a bad experence Thanks Steve
stport68 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2012, 11:24 AM   #2
Regular Member
 
Mystery Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 4,134
Mystery Bird Apprentice Level Tech II
Default

Positive all wires are on correct location? O2 sensors and dirty MAF can also cause similar conditions. Also, make sure all your grounds are good and clean.
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/MysteryBird1?feature=watch
1995 TA: Converted Nose...381 LT1...4L80E...12 bolt...3.90 Gears...4000 TC
Best 1/4 so far 10.87@ 123, 1.48 60ft, 3450lbs.
Mystery Bird is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 01:16 PM   #3
Regular Member
 
steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver Isl., BC
Posts: 4,050
steveo Tradesman Level Tech I
Default

O2s wouldnt cause a rough idle condition on cold start though, would they

has to be something active in open loop
__________________
'94 LT1 Trans Am GT
My Projects: .. EEX - Tunerpro XDF .. LT1 Tech Page ..
.. Unix ALDL Datastream Parser ..
steveo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 04:01 PM   #4
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 9,587
cocobolo95 Tradesman Level Tech II
Default

Not just grounds, but check wiring, connectors also. Have you checked the opti wire harness that runs between opti and passenger side of intake. Check it's wiring and the connectors for burnt, bent, corroded pins.

Spray a little mist of water on spark plug wires, run at night, and see if there is any spark leakage. Do the old pull a spark plug wire off, while running and see if it changes the rpm. Do all 8.
cocobolo95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:01 PM   #5
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
stport68 user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

When i did the new opti i also got it with a new connection wire harness. I double check all the grounds, had to deal with that in my old honda, i do plan on replacing the O2 sensors and injectors in the near future. Im just making sure that i covered everything else.
stport68 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


» Recommended
Find technical articles on a Chevy Corvette, including tips and tricks on a Chevy Camaro and expert advice for Pontiac Firebird, along with reviews on the Cadillac CTS.
» Auto Insurance
» Sponsors
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.5.2
Copyright © 2005 - 2011 by LS1LT1.com

Our Friends:


Illegal Street Racing | Super Cars | LT1 Tech Articles