Cylinder Head Temp Sensor - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums
Presented by:

New User? Register
LS1 Forums Register Photo Gallery Tech/FAQ Members List Calendar Auto Loans Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance
Premium Membership Videos Perf Tools Mobile/iPhone Link to Us! Social Groups Follow LS1LT1 on Twitter


Go Back   LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums > Engine Tech > LT1 | LT4 | L99 Engine Tech

LS1LT1.com is the premier Pontiac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2012, 08:32 AM   #1
Whistles go Whoooooooooo
 
ShowNoMercy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,215
ShowNoMercy Tradesman Level Tech II
Default Cylinder Head Temp Sensor

Temp sensor on the front driver side head, is there any negative to moving it to the rear passenger side head?

Other than a steam pocket, I can't think of much that would make it a bad idea.

Thoughts?
__________________
Una salus victis nullam sperare salutem

If it ain't ARP, it ain't right.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetbmxrider View Post
I have a heavily modified lt1.


http://www.ls1lt1.com/forum/moderato...lt1-build.html
ShowNoMercy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2012, 08:42 AM   #2
Regular Member
 
wdmickjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rural Arkansas
Posts: 370
wdmickjr user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

Yeah.. you can move it. Keep it any where ON the heads. It may be a few degrees different, but it is for your gauge. I do not see a problem and have considered it also. But I would like you, keep it on the sides of the head(s) and not on the ends.
__________________
'00 Safari SLE with '95 4bolt 355 LT1; decked .010'', hand ported 374s & intake (David Vizard tech), 1.94/1.5", farmed out EFI 24x, 2001 LS1 pcm, VooDoo 211/219*, w/1.7" rr .574"/583", 4L60e, shift kit & corvette servo, G80 GT4, 3.73:1, ported & massaged Granny's Speed Shop headers, true duals, 2 long Cherry Bombs used for resonators, 2 long Thrush Turbo mufflers, local tune under an Oak tree. 5 year project/swap.
aka fAstro
wdmickjr is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 08:47 AM   #3
Whistles go Whoooooooooo
 
ShowNoMercy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,215
ShowNoMercy Tradesman Level Tech II
Default

Yea its just gonna be as if you put the driver side head on the passenger side.

Thanks
__________________
Una salus victis nullam sperare salutem

If it ain't ARP, it ain't right.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetbmxrider View Post
I have a heavily modified lt1.


http://www.ls1lt1.com/forum/moderato...lt1-build.html
ShowNoMercy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:05 AM   #4
Regular Member
 
Dynamic396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Newman Lake, WA
Posts: 813
Dynamic396 Apprentice Level Tech III
Default

You should be fine. As I built the harness for my 24x, I'm moved a bunch of stuff around in the harness and I contemplated doing exactly that. It would have made wire routing a little easier, but I ended up leaving it where it was.

Moving it farther back like that will just put it a little farther upstream in the coolant flow by, what...maybe 8"...? Not a big deal, in my opinion...
__________________
1995 Camaro Z-28, M6, 396 stroker, Scat forged 3.875" crank, Scat Ultra Q-Lite 6" H-beams, Icon forged pistons (4.030"), splayed 4 bolt w/ARP studs, 12.25:1, AFR 210 heads (2.08"/1.6", 58cc), Comp Ultra Pro Magnum XD 1.7:1 rockers, GM847 cam (234/242 .611"/.632"), Edelbrock LT4 air-gap intake, Spec Stage 3+ clutch, Fidanza aluminum flywheel, 24x conversion, 0411 PCM, TPIS 58mm, Bosch III 42# injectors, Aeromotive 340, Kook's stepped LT's, Kook's custom stainless 3-1/2" merge ORY, Magnaflow
Dynamic396 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:28 AM   #5
Whistles go Whoooooooooo
 
ShowNoMercy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,215
ShowNoMercy Tradesman Level Tech II
Default

Yea gonna start building a second harness for the car actually and rather than just repin the ends, its gonna be stripped to plug and wires so I can lay it out how I want stuff to be. That single wire for that sensor is a little to fragile to be hanging out by the turbo so I want it farther back.
__________________
Una salus victis nullam sperare salutem

If it ain't ARP, it ain't right.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetbmxrider View Post
I have a heavily modified lt1.


http://www.ls1lt1.com/forum/moderato...lt1-build.html
ShowNoMercy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:26 PM   #6
Regular Member
 
steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver Isl., BC
Posts: 3,866
steveo Tradesman Level Tech I
Default

just jamming the sensor anywhere that's aluminum is probably close enough, it's not a very accurate temp gauge to begin with

hell you could just stick it in a line T in your heater hose and the gauge would read differently, but probably still be a good enough reference

if i were a real picky bastard, i'd rig up a potentiometer, get avg. head temperature with an infared heat gun or something, and tweak it till the gauge was fairly accurate regardless of its location
__________________
1988 TBI camaro .. On LT1 break ...
My Projects: .. EEX - Tunerpro XDF .. LT1 Tech Page ..
.. Unix ALDL Datastream Parser ..
steveo is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:31 PM   #7
Regular Member
 
DUDBIRD113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Bushes of New Jersey
Posts: 437
DUDBIRD113 user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

Ive read that you should stick it in your waterpump on the other side of the pcm temp sensor. Might as well see what temp the computers reading but on your gauge. Im pretty sure if you put it on the other side your temp gauge will read more or vise vers due to coolant flow.
__________________
94 TA GT Stock 350 lt1, cam, exhaust
DUDBIRD113 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:43 PM   #8
Whistles go Whoooooooooo
 
ShowNoMercy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,215
ShowNoMercy Tradesman Level Tech II
Default

Like all GM temp gauges, they want the dash to give the driver a margin of safety before the engine temps really hit there. So, seeing a higher number isn't that bad, I would be monitoring the actual PCM temp anyways.
__________________
Una salus victis nullam sperare salutem

If it ain't ARP, it ain't right.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetbmxrider View Post
I have a heavily modified lt1.


http://www.ls1lt1.com/forum/moderato...lt1-build.html
ShowNoMercy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 02:00 AM   #9
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 157
93formulafirebird user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShowNoMercy View Post
Like all GM temp gauges, they want the dash to give the driver a margin of safety before the engine temps really hit there. So, seeing a higher number isn't that bad, I would be monitoring the actual PCM temp anyways.
How big of a margin? not trying to hijack but my car never gets past the first white line on my temp gauge, no wonder i never get closed loop.
93formulafirebird is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 08:45 AM   #10
Regular Member
 
shoebox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 5,866
shoebox Tradesman Level Tech II
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93formulafirebird View Post
How big of a margin? not trying to hijack but my car never gets past the first white line on my temp gauge, no wonder i never get closed loop.
My temp gauge and PCM readings usually are very close, if not the same (as much as you can tell with an analog dash gauge).
shoebox is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 10:50 AM   #11
Whistles go Whoooooooooo
 
ShowNoMercy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,215
ShowNoMercy Tradesman Level Tech II
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoebox View Post
My temp gauge and PCM readings usually are very close, if not the same (as much as you can tell with an analog dash gauge).
Granted I am basing it off my truck which has the ECT and gauge temp usually off by ~20 degrees.
__________________
Una salus victis nullam sperare salutem

If it ain't ARP, it ain't right.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetbmxrider View Post
I have a heavily modified lt1.


http://www.ls1lt1.com/forum/moderato...lt1-build.html
ShowNoMercy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:09 PM   #12
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: san antonio tx
Posts: 82
txthndr user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DUDBIRD113 View Post
Ive read that you should stick it in your waterpump on the other side of the pcm temp sensor. Might as well see what temp the computers reading but on your gauge....
that's the way mine is set up. PO set it up like that, and i really don't see why i should move it....and when i had datamaster on the computer, running at idle, it was very close to what the gauge was showing. the gauge would just move a little slower then the temp from datamaster was showing...
__________________
1997 Z28(OBD1 converted)300(299)rwhp/325tq w/bbk's,magnaflow CB,CAI,LT4 KM, 160STAT,EWP pump,taylor wires,tr55's,accel dist.pcmforless tune.
WAIT, it's been built! 385 c.i. rear mount turbo, T-56 built by Savers trans, pensacola fl. starting at 5lbs, and breaking in then engine. hopefully will get it to 12psi in a couple months on dyno tune..
txthndr is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


» Recommended
Find technical articles on a Chevy Corvette, including tips and tricks on a Chevy Camaro and expert advice for Pontiac Firebird, along with reviews on the Cadillac CTS.
» Auto Insurance
» Sponsors
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.5.2
Copyright © 2005 - 2011 by LS1LT1.com

Our Friends:


Illegal Street Racing | Super Cars | LT1 Tech Articles