Question 1994 Roadmaster - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums
Presented by:

New User? Register
LS1 Forums Register Photo Gallery Tech/FAQ Members List Calendar Auto Loans Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance
Premium Membership Videos Perf Tools Mobile/iPhone Link to Us! Social Groups Follow LS1LT1 on Twitter


Go Back   LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums > Engine Tech > LT1 | LT4 | L99 Engine Tech

LS1LT1.com is the premier Pontiac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2012, 07:39 AM   #1
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Tyson user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Question 1994 Roadmaster

As mentioned above I have 94 Roadmaster with 53K miles. All was going well until I started it the other day after sitting a couple of weeks and noticed a what seemed to be a missing or flutter in the throttle when starting at a light. It seemed to be missing. The car needed inspection and the guys at the station said to put some gas treatment in it and see if that helps. Has'nt yet. I put plugs in it yesterday no help.I was surprised that the recommended gap was .050. Does it take a while for the effect of changes to change things? I have noticed a gassy smell from the exhaust. Seems that with these and all fi cars now adays questions start with "is it showing any codes". I went to AZ and they said they could not read it. Too old. If I was to buy a reader what would you guys recommend? Hopefuly there is something universal with todays newer cars. Anybody got ant ideas?
Tyson is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2012, 06:16 PM   #2
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 9,738
cocobolo95 Tradesman Level Tech II
Default

Actron CP9145 obd1 & obd2 scanner will read your car if you buy the CP9127 GM 12 pin dlc connector with it. THe cP 9145 sells for around $140 on Amazon or Ebay. It will read codes for all obd2 cars til at least 2008 and all obd1 cars with the correct dlc connector. It not only reads codes but does running sensor scans which is what you need to do. Also not all codes light the ses so you need to scan for codes also. I'm not 100% sure on this, but I think roadmasters can read codes using the hvac control panel. but you still need a scanner capable of doing running sensor scans.

You need a fuel pressure gauge also as part of your tool kit. The correct fuel pressure is important to the proper performance of fuel injected cars.

When you changed plugs you should also change plug wires, fuel & air filter, opti cap & rotor.

Last edited by cocobolo95; 11-07-2012 at 06:18 PM.
cocobolo95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:24 PM   #3
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Fiesta City
Posts: 2,139
KW Baraka Apprentice Level Tech III
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cocobolo95 View Post
.....I'm not 100% sure on this, but I think roadmasters can read codes using the hvac control panel.......
Just barely under the dash to the left (driver's side) of the ashtray.

KW
__________________
Black 1996 Impala SS, MTI 396ci, Ported AFR 210 Heads,
Competition Cam 236/242 Custom Grind
58mm TB, Clear Image 1 3/4" Quad-1 Headers with 3" Cut-outs, DynoMax 2.5" Cat-back
Yank 3200 stall TC, 4.10 gears
Bryan Herter tuning = 419 rwHP @ 6250 and 450 rwTQ @ 3750
SR 398ci in the works
KW Baraka is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 12:05 PM   #4
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Tyson user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default Well

So far all I have been able to do is find a CP9001 code reader. Looked at the 9145 on Amazon and it was $279. OK read the instructions ref. pluging the unit in and hed no check engine light. Instructions are,there is an electrical problem and need to consult the circuit diagnostics section of the owners manual. No such thing in the owners manual. One thing I failed to mention above is that while driving between 48 and 55 mph and you are not accelerating just cruising along, if you ease down on the accelerator pedel it starts to studder, you can gass it and it goes away. once you accelerate thru it and back of to that speed again than apply light pedal, it starts to studder again.? I am wondering if the TPS is the issue?
Almost forgot. I do have the service engine soon light when I turn on the key but it goes out when I start the engine.

Last edited by Tyson; 11-13-2012 at 12:11 PM.
Tyson is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:00 PM   #5
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Tyson user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

After reading some other sites I felt for sure it was the TPS. Nope not that.
Tyson is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:23 PM   #6
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 9,738
cocobolo95 Tradesman Level Tech II
Default

Actron CP9001 is a cheap obd1 scanner made to simulate a paper clip across the dlc terminals. It WILL NOT WORK with your 94 roadmaster. You need a scanner that reads codes and does running sensor scans. That's why I pointed yo towards the CP9145. Keep looking, I paid less than $275 when it was the current model. It's discontinued for their new model. You should be able to find one in the $140 range, unless they are all sold out. Check Amazon and ebay.
cocobolo95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:53 PM   #7
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Fiesta City
Posts: 2,139
KW Baraka Apprentice Level Tech III
Default

If it's the type of shudder that I think it is, then I'm gonna say the torque converter is shuddering. May be due to the TC locking and unlocking rapidly.

Do this: Get out on a road where you can safely drive in that speed range (50-55 mph), like a semi-rural road or state hwy.

Slow to about 15-20 mph, shift the tranny out of OD and into Drive. The accellerate up to about 60 mph and see if the car rides 'normally' to that speed.

Bet it does. Because if it is TC shudder like I think it is.....it only happens in the speed range you're talking about......and only when the tranny is in overdrive.

Now.....what to do about it?

Short of swapping out the TC or talking to a tranny specialist for more in-depth assistance......I dunno .

KW
__________________
Black 1996 Impala SS, MTI 396ci, Ported AFR 210 Heads,
Competition Cam 236/242 Custom Grind
58mm TB, Clear Image 1 3/4" Quad-1 Headers with 3" Cut-outs, DynoMax 2.5" Cat-back
Yank 3200 stall TC, 4.10 gears
Bryan Herter tuning = 419 rwHP @ 6250 and 450 rwTQ @ 3750
SR 398ci in the works

Last edited by KW Baraka; 11-13-2012 at 03:56 PM.
KW Baraka is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:43 PM   #8
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Tyson user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default Transmission

Well I did the transmission test as instructed and there was no change. I will search for a tester.
Tyson is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 04:09 PM   #9
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Fiesta City
Posts: 2,139
KW Baraka Apprentice Level Tech III
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyson View Post
Well I did the transmission test as instructed and there was no change. I will search for a tester.
So you had the shudder even with the shifter in third gear (Drive) ?

Mmmmm.......wonder if it could be the EGR valve ....

KW
KW Baraka is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 05:11 PM   #10
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Tyson user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default 94 Roadmaster

Yes I still had the studdering while in drive.
I have been trying to find a tester locally. Found the cp9185 but could not find a cable cp9127. I did talk to Actron tech support. He was surprised that the cp9001 would not show any codes. I may go ahead and buy a tester and cable online tonight.
Tyson is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:54 PM   #11
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 9,738
cocobolo95 Tradesman Level Tech II
Default

Surprised the actron guy didn't know the cp9001 only works to 93. 94 and 95 f-body, even though obd1 use a re flash able pcm that cp9001 won't get code from.

Jegs has the cp9127 cable adaptor, I believe it's about $35. Saw it in their latest catalog, the Christmas one.

Also did a search on the actron site and cp9127 came up.

Just searched ebay. They have a cp9145 buy it now price of $129.99
Also have the cp9127 adapter for your 94 for $34.99

Last edited by cocobolo95; 11-14-2012 at 07:02 PM.
cocobolo95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:41 PM   #12
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Tyson user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default Bought it!

I bought the 9145 and 9127 off ebay. Waiting for delivery (express). While that is happening I decided to try some things that I had read on the ImpalaSS site. Disconnected the erg and the temp control switches, one at a time to see if there were any changes. Did this after warm up. No changes. I did pull the codes off the climate control unit but have not figured out how to read them yet.
Tyson is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 09:24 PM   #13
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Tyson user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

I got the tester and cable assembly yesterday while I was out of town. Anxious to see how it works!
Tyson is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 04:59 PM   #14
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Tyson user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

Read all documentation on the tester. Hooker her up. She read a code 15 which is the thermal fan switch that mounts in the water pump. Replaced her and cleared the code. took her wfor a drive. No change. No more codes. Hmm Opened the hood disconnected the TPS to see if a code would show. It did. No other codes. Went over to a friends house and he pulled the injector connectors one at a time. Some made a big difference some not much at all. I plan to replace the injectors next. I hope that works. I am curious as why I dont have a code.
Tyson is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:58 PM   #15
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 9,738
cocobolo95 Tradesman Level Tech II
Default

Sometimes codes don't set like they are supposed to. That's why having a scanner that does running sensor data scans is even more important. Your sensors can tell you where a problem lies. But even if a sensor is off on it's readings, don't run out and buy a new sensor until you've checked the wiring, fuses, connectors, engine grounds , pcm grounds and power leads. All of those things can cause faulty sensor readings and codes to be set.
cocobolo95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


» Recommended
Find technical articles on a Chevy Corvette, including tips and tricks on a Chevy Camaro and expert advice for Pontiac Firebird, along with reviews on the Cadillac CTS.
» Auto Insurance
» Sponsors
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.5.2
Copyright © 2005 - 2011 by LS1LT1.com

Our Friends:


Illegal Street Racing | Super Cars | LT1 Tech Articles