Idle Surges! - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-10-2012, 10:32 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
algermilitia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Great Northwest Washington
Posts: 486
 
Idle Surges!

Ok guys, after a few months I got my engine back in my car. It's an LT1 in a 1995 Formula. Stock tuning. However, it's got completely rebuilt internals and a new cc305 cam and springs. The problem I'm having is the same as before. The engine surges, feels quite rough at idle, and occassionally there is a noise that sounds like either something is seizing up or the starter is trying to engage. I'm starting to believe my starter is not fully disegaging or perhaps an arc is occurring between the power and silinoid wire. Anyway, I took a log while the car was running. The IAC is very high, compared to an old log when the car was running a couple years ago. And the IAC fluctuates up and down. The MAP seems high as well, but after reading the log, it is near identical numbers to the original engine configuration log, except when the IAC fluctuates, the MAP fluctuates as well. Sometimes above .5, when it should be around .3 to .34. I need to figure out why the idle is fluctuating so much. It may just have something to do with the new cam, but I've looked at files from tuners using the cc305 cam, and their timing charts are identical to stock. Give me some ideas what to look for, please!

Thanks
algermilitia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-11-2012, 06:28 AM
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 11,473
 
If you look in the sticky threads of this section there is a cam selection guide which states your cc305 has idle surge as standard equipment with it. You do need to retune your pcm for the cam your using now. Have pcm retuned then see how she runs and compare to stock data logs.
cocobolo95 is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-11-2012, 06:55 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
algermilitia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Great Northwest Washington
Posts: 486
 
I don't know why, but everything started up and ran fine today. Haven't touched anything.
algermilitia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome