how hard is it to change my fuel pump - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-30-2006, 11:26 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
transamguy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gresham
Posts: 22
 
Send a message via AIM to transamguy7
Question how hard is it to change my fuel pump

i have a 95 T/A and the fuel pump recently gave out. i was trying to find out the best way to put a new fuel pump in it cause everyone knows its a bitch trying to replace a fuel pump in F-bodies. and also what how long do you think it would take a mechanic to preform this job?
transamguy7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-2006, 12:06 AM
Regular Member
 
davesLT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 989
 
Although i've never done it i've read that the easiest way is to cut a hole through the interior directly above the tank, so you can access the pump from above. Otherwise you got to drop the tank!! At a shop probally in the ballpark of 3 to up to maybe 6 hours labor.
davesLT1 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-2006, 08:46 AM
Founder
 
Chris 96 WS6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 7,472
 
Please don't cut up your car. I hate that approach. I know its easier but its not like you'll be swapping pumps all the time. Its actually not a hard job to drop the axle, exhaust and then tank and do it the right way. You will need 1 friend to help though.

- 2007 Sunburst Orange HHR LT - Daily Driver :: Tuned by Trifecta
- 1996 Trans Am WS6 -- SOLD 6/07

- TNfbody.com -- Founding Member
Chris 96 WS6 is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-2006, 01:29 PM
Regular Member
 
davesLT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 989
 
Let me clairify my post. I'was not telling you to cut up your car, i was just stating what i've read. I would never reccomend to hack up your car... I was just telling you one of the easier ways to do it. Like i said in this post, it was just stating what i've read on this as to be the easiest way. I should've reread the original post to see he asked the best way to do this not, the easiest. Sorry for the bad recomendation!
davesLT1 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-2006, 01:39 PM
Regular Member
 
Black93Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 780
 
Send a message via AIM to Black93Z Send a message via MSN to Black93Z Send a message via Yahoo to Black93Z
ok the best way is to drop the tank, however the easiest way is to cut a hole in the floorboard, which im not proud i did but i had no choice didnt have a place time, or spare vehicle to be able to spare the time to drop the tank, but ive cut the hole in the floor and the hardest part is getting one of the two feed/return lines disconnected. if you need some more info cuz youve decided to do it that way then i can help you, i did it like 3 weeks ago, or around there.

Black 93 Z 6spd (M29): Rachel, gone but not forgotten
wish list: another f-body
97 c/k 1500, shift kit and 3k stall, OTVC wires, Magnaflow exhaust
Sex is like math: you add the bed, subtract the clothes, divide the legs and pray you dont multiply!
Black93Z is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-2006, 05:46 PM
Regular Member
 
'97z28m6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 162
 
Send a message via AIM to '97z28m6
I did it the right way, probley the most annoying thing for me was actually dropping the tank becauase my filler neck just wouldn't let it go, i ended up have to bend it a lot more then i prefered to. but it came out. also getting the case open that the fuel pump is in was a PITA but thats the same regardless of cutting a hole inside the car of dropping the tank. one thing i messed up though is the little thing that senses the gas level so now my gas guage constantly reads empty. i haven't had time to fix it since i replaced my pump. don't really feel like dropping the whole tank again...
'97z28m6 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-05-2006, 07:55 PM
Administrator
 
03slowZ06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 7,520
 
Send a message via Yahoo to 03slowZ06
how about replaceing it with an inline and never having to deal with the tank again?
03slowZ06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome