Urgent LT1 ENGINE SWAP IN AN 86 C10 - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-05-2009, 05:53 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
emobile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
 
Exclamation LT1 ENGINE SWAP IN AN 86 C10

This is my first attempt at an lt1 engine swap. I have an 96 impala ss engine with all the wiring and components.(ecm, map sensor, etc..) I'm about to put it in a 86 chevy pick up. I would like any input on different kits available (if there is any!! I've looked) any advice on what to do about the pass key system. I've read you can disable this function when you reprogram the ecm. Also heard you could buy an eliminator kit for it. Also read about redoing my wiring harness so any schematic would be great! I'm trying to keep the a/c so i could use info on hooking that a/c compressor to the stock truck system. I know I have to relocate the a/c compressor up high due to clearance issues. I've read that I'll have to relocate the fuel lines also due to the year. (my lines come out on the passenger side) Any ideas on fuel pump and line setups! Read you can use a fuel pump from late 80's model early 90's throttle body setups. Also info for speed sensor.(Using the original tranny that came with the truck. Its been completely overhauled.) Ideas for the cooling fan setup and radiator. I know I'm asking alot but, I do appreciate all the advice I can get. Thanks again

Drive fast..... Take chances!!!!
emobile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-05-2009, 06:12 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 787
 
Send a message via Yahoo to KenC
I never done lt1 swap with fi i turned it to a carb set up,you will need electric fans an u need impala,camaro trans am radiator or aftermarket rad with inlet and outlet in same area as those (reverse cooling),ur trans should bolt right up assuming it has a flexplate on the lt1.If i think of anything else ill let u know
KenC is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-05-2009, 08:21 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LAS VEGAS
Posts: 894
 
just buy a "standalone" harness.. Then its just plug and play.. You can use the stock motor mounts, and use long tubes for that model truck.. Then buy a walbro pump, and adapt it into your fuel tank, and run your fuel line accordinlly

Forged 357 LE1 under the knife

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraZ28 View Post
Sorry, that doesn't work on me! "I" am the voodoooer'!!!!
PANCHOLT1 is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-05-2009, 09:10 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 787
 
Send a message via Yahoo to KenC
I like the idea i want to do it to a 68-71 c10 they are my favorite trucks,It shouldn't be difficult, wiring the most complicated
KenC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome