Throttle body connection question #1? - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-12-2008, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 472
 
Throttle body connection question #1?

If I plan on blocking off my throttle body coolant lines, than where does my steam tube from the rear of the heads connect to? Thanks, Jimmy
Jimmy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-12-2008, 10:00 PM
Regular Member
 
Greg Norris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chuckteezy SC
Posts: 1,132
 
the radiator.

tho I remember that you did a swap into a Jeep right?

what radiator are you using?

http://shbox.com/1/93-94_hoses.jpg

From the past 10 years about 90% of Ford trucks are still on the road, the other 10% made it home.

Last edited by Greg Norris; 12-12-2008 at 10:03 PM.
Greg Norris is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-12-2008, 10:00 PM
95Z
Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 8,047
 
Looking at the motor (head on) you disconnect the line going into the throttle body on the right, and connect it to where the one on the left/tb exit goes to. TB imput hose to the hard steam tube comming from the rear. Then just trash the hose going out of the throttle body to steam tube.



Yep its slow.

Making the world a warmer place one gallon at a time.
95Z is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-12-2008, 10:07 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 472
 
Problem is there are no lines, I'm starting from scratch. So to the top of the radiator, or tied into one of the heater hoses good? Thanks, Jimmy
Jimmy is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-12-2008, 10:46 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 472
 
Greg, it's an old Studebaker, and I went with an alunium from a company called PRC. I have an extra fitting on the radiator below the water neck. That should work.
Jimmy is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-12-2008, 11:04 PM
95Z
Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 8,047
 
One below the water neck is for overflow/res. It might work though.



Yep its slow.

Making the world a warmer place one gallon at a time.
95Z is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2008, 12:23 AM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 472
 
Pretty sure there's another one on the bottom, I'll have to check tomorrow.....but I can also connect it into one of the heater lines ...correct?
Jimmy is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2008, 11:30 AM
95Z
Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 8,047
 
Mine has 2 lines directly below the radiator cap. Top line is for overflow, second one down connects directly to my steam vent. So that is the one you want if your radiator is similar.



Yep its slow.

Making the world a warmer place one gallon at a time.
95Z is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2008, 03:44 PM
Regular Member
 
Greg Norris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chuckteezy SC
Posts: 1,132
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95Z View Post
Mine has 2 lines directly below the radiator cap. Top line is for overflow, second one down connects directly to my steam vent. So that is the one you want if your radiator is similar.


however jimmy your port below the filler neck may be for the overflow only. if so, trust me, you do not want to get them mixed up. i blew a head gasket cus my two hoses got interchanged and the steam pipe was pumping hot coolant straight to the resevior and thus draining the engine/rad of coolant.

tho, you should be fine hooking it up to the port. you just wont be running a resevior unless you wanted to rig up a seperate resevoir later.

From the past 10 years about 90% of Ford trucks are still on the road, the other 10% made it home.
Greg Norris is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2008, 04:41 PM
Regular Member
 
shoebox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,317
 
There have been some conversion people that have run the steam pipe into a heater hose and it seemed to work ok. If you don't have an extra port on the radiator you should be able to do it this way.
shoebox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome