crank position sensor - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums
Presented by:

New User? Register
LS1 Forums Register Photo Gallery Tech/FAQ Members List Calendar Auto Loans Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance
Premium Membership Videos Perf Tools Mobile/iPhone Link to Us! Social Groups Follow LS1LT1 on Twitter


Go Back   LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums > Engine Tech > LT1 | LT4 | L99 Engine Tech

LS1LT1.com is the premier Pontiac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2007, 12:28 PM   #1
Regular Member
 
LearJet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 522
LearJet user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default crank position sensor

I am getting a crank position sensor code on my 97 LT1, should i replace the sensor or should I just tune it out? It is my understading that it does nothing but if so why is it there?
__________________
1997 Z28- Pacesetter LT's w/ ORY , Magnaflow catback, CC503 camshaft, 1.6 Comp ProMags, Comp 918 beehive springs, CNC ported and polished stock heads, K&N FIPK CAI, Level 3 4L60E, 9.5 inch 3000 stall, Motive 3.73's, !Cats, !EGR, !A.I.R., LT4 KM. Tuned by Brian at pcmforless.com.
LearJet is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-10-2007, 01:09 PM   #2
Administrator
 
03slowZ06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 7,520
03slowZ06 Apprentice Level Tech III
Send a message via Yahoo to 03slowZ06
Default

Dont do either. Pull it out and look at it. Unless it is green its fine. The code is probley comeing from the wire being oil soaked rather then the sensor bad. Spray the connectors out with electro wash and clean up the sensor itself with some alcohol and see if it fixes your problem first.
__________________
03 Z06, LTs, A&A P1SC running 6psi, 550/471
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94FormulaBird View Post
drivers side is a dream....passenger side on the other hand...i lost 2 screwdrivevers and a socket when i chucked them in the woods

u can do it



I am permanently banned from all petting zoo's for getting to friendly
03slowZ06 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 02:30 PM   #3
Regular Member
 
LT1ForFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 319
LT1ForFun user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

You definitely do NOT want to tune it out. Symptoms like very poor fuel economy, sputtering, etc. will occur, and the motor will eventually shut off and not want to run. If you have a bad sensor, replace it. You can buy the sensor for less than $40.
LT1ForFun is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 03:33 PM   #4
Regular Member
 
LearJet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 522
LearJet user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

I thought the crank position sensor is only for misfire detection? It runs just fine without it, you can unplug the it and the engine doesn't miss a beat, just turns on the SES. The guys that run Gen1 double roller timing sets with a electric water pump remove the sensor and tune em out...

Anyways, I will pull it out later tonight and take a look at it.
__________________
1997 Z28- Pacesetter LT's w/ ORY , Magnaflow catback, CC503 camshaft, 1.6 Comp ProMags, Comp 918 beehive springs, CNC ported and polished stock heads, K&N FIPK CAI, Level 3 4L60E, 9.5 inch 3000 stall, Motive 3.73's, !Cats, !EGR, !A.I.R., LT4 KM. Tuned by Brian at pcmforless.com.
LearJet is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 04:15 PM   #5
I'm watching you....
 
BLK WS6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 2,912
BLK WS6 Apprentice Level Tech III
Default

There is a difference between tuning out the cps because the sensors bad (or for tuning reasons) and tuning out the cps to hide another problem. Basically what I getting at is make sure that the cps is giving you a false reading...you don't want to delete it if is going its job by telling you that you have a misfire....and then hiding the problem.

Ever heard of OBDII to OBDI? =!cps
__________________

Tuning is for the birds...




BLK WS6 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 04:52 PM   #6
Regular Member
 
LearJet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 522
LearJet user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

I am not getting a misfire code, I am getting a crank sensor voltage too high/low or something like that, can't remember exactly what. I will stick it up on the lift and take a look at it in about an hour and post my findings.
__________________
1997 Z28- Pacesetter LT's w/ ORY , Magnaflow catback, CC503 camshaft, 1.6 Comp ProMags, Comp 918 beehive springs, CNC ported and polished stock heads, K&N FIPK CAI, Level 3 4L60E, 9.5 inch 3000 stall, Motive 3.73's, !Cats, !EGR, !A.I.R., LT4 KM. Tuned by Brian at pcmforless.com.
LearJet is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 07:22 PM   #7
Regular Member
 
LearJet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 522
LearJet user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

Ok, I put the car up on the lift and took a look at the crank sensor. The plug was missing the rubber dust boot and the thing was soaked in grime. I cleaned it up and replaced the dust boot. I pulled it out just for kicks and it looks nice and clean. reinstalled it with a new O-ring and plugged it back in. I used a little De-Oxit on the connection too. (if you have never used deoxit go to radio shack and get yourself a can of it, it is expensive but well worth the money. It is a electrical contact enhancer) Cleared the DTC, we will see if it comes back.
__________________
1997 Z28- Pacesetter LT's w/ ORY , Magnaflow catback, CC503 camshaft, 1.6 Comp ProMags, Comp 918 beehive springs, CNC ported and polished stock heads, K&N FIPK CAI, Level 3 4L60E, 9.5 inch 3000 stall, Motive 3.73's, !Cats, !EGR, !A.I.R., LT4 KM. Tuned by Brian at pcmforless.com.
LearJet is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 06:26 AM   #8
01Z
victim of circumstances
 
01Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: TaxMe, Ohio
Posts: 444
01Z Apprentice Level Tech III
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LearJet View Post
I used a little De-Oxit on the connection too. (if you have never used deoxit go to radio shack and get yourself a can of it, it is expensive but well worth the money. It is a electrical contact enhancer).
How expensive? I'm interested but a little too lazy today.
01Z is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 02:06 PM   #9
Regular Member
 
LearJet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 522
LearJet user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

http://www.deoxit.com/

Check it out, great products.
__________________
1997 Z28- Pacesetter LT's w/ ORY , Magnaflow catback, CC503 camshaft, 1.6 Comp ProMags, Comp 918 beehive springs, CNC ported and polished stock heads, K&N FIPK CAI, Level 3 4L60E, 9.5 inch 3000 stall, Motive 3.73's, !Cats, !EGR, !A.I.R., LT4 KM. Tuned by Brian at pcmforless.com.
LearJet is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 07:10 PM   #10
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 141
ihaterice Apprentice Level Tech III
Send a message via AIM to ihaterice
Default

digging up an old thread here but i think i am having trouble with my crankshaft position sensor... my car just dies randomly and wont start back up again for a while... any help
__________________
1993 trans am, a4, slp loudmouth exhaust, cat delete, slp CAI, madz28 pcm tune
1957 chevy (210 not bel air) 350, bored .030 over, forged pistons, .496 duration cam, edelebrock performer intake manifold, mallory cd ignition box, longtube headers, "fund drainer" 431 hp 502 TQ
2001.5 dodge cummins, oversized intake, edge comp, $6,000+ DTT built transmission, 78mm non wastegated turbo.
"i guess when the boys stop playing with 1.8 liters and become men with 5.7"
ihaterice is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 07:45 PM   #11
Regular Member
 
michael66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alabama
Posts: 154
michael66 user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

You don't have one. They started using them in 96. Probably your ICM.
__________________
RED 1995 PONTIAC TRANS AM, BORLA EXHAUST, PACESETTER MID-TUBE HEADERS, DYNOMAX BULLET IN CAT'S PLACE, 52MM PORTED THROTTLE BODY, FORD RACING BLUE TOP 24LB. INJECTORS, PORTED MAF, 1.6 COMP ROLLER ROCKERS, MSD 6 BOX, MSD COIL, MSD CAP, NGK TR55 PLUGS, MOROSO BLUE MAX 8MM WIRES, 2500 rpm CUSTOM PTC STALL, DERALE TRANS PAN, B&M TRANS COOLER,TRE 255LPH FUEL PUMP, LS1 VOLANT TRI-Y RAM AIR INTAKE, LS1 STYLE WS-6 RAM AIR HOOD,HYPERCOILS LOWERING SPRINGS,17X9 17X11 ZR1 WHEELS
michael66 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 08:11 PM   #12
Regular Member
 
redhotlt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: south carolina
Posts: 76
redhotlt1 user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

i`ve had the same issue with my 96 i wonder if anybody has a replacement wires for it if so let me know.
redhotlt1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 08:17 PM   #13
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 141
ihaterice Apprentice Level Tech III
Send a message via AIM to ihaterice
Default

replaced the icm... sometimes with the key just on the tach will jump a bit... like up to 2000 and back down to 0...
__________________
1993 trans am, a4, slp loudmouth exhaust, cat delete, slp CAI, madz28 pcm tune
1957 chevy (210 not bel air) 350, bored .030 over, forged pistons, .496 duration cam, edelebrock performer intake manifold, mallory cd ignition box, longtube headers, "fund drainer" 431 hp 502 TQ
2001.5 dodge cummins, oversized intake, edge comp, $6,000+ DTT built transmission, 78mm non wastegated turbo.
"i guess when the boys stop playing with 1.8 liters and become men with 5.7"
ihaterice is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


» Recommended
Find technical articles on a Chevy Corvette, including tips and tricks on a Chevy Camaro and expert advice for Pontiac Firebird, along with reviews on the Cadillac CTS.
» Auto Insurance
» Sponsors
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.5.2
Copyright © 2005 - 2011 by LS1LT1.com

Our Friends:


Illegal Street Racing | Super Cars | LT1 Tech Articles