Oil in opti, replaced cap, now won't start - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-25-2017, 06:04 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
WS6bird97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 75
 
Oil in opti, replaced cap, now won't start

I recently replaced the cap and rotor that cost $157 on Amazon. Now the car won't start (it tries but won't turn over). The Opti was soaked with oil inside, so I cleaned it and thought it would be good. The reason I replaced was because cylinder 8 was misfiring w/ code. There are no codes now.

AC Delco D8301 GM Original Equipment Ignition Distributor Cap and Rotor Kit with Housing, Seals, and Bolts is what I bought.
Any help would be much appreciated.

97 WS6 Trans Am M6 ; CC-503-8, BBK headers, Hurst short throw shifter, pulley, CAI, TB bypass, Zoom clutch, Cherry Bomb muffler, EGR and AIR delete, 2 1/2'' e-cutout, Solomon Tune.
WS6bird97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-25-2017, 08:06 PM
Regular Member
 
garybo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 12
 
I don't understand it tries but won't turn over.

Do you have spark at the coil ?

Do you have spark at the plugs ?

95 Z28, Automatic, Stock except for CAI, Throttle Body Bypass, Flowmaster Exhaust. 2:73 Rear, SLP Fan Control, 145k Miles - Runs Great
garybo is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-26-2017, 07:11 AM
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 11,983
 
Quick test to see if low resolution pulse is occuring is to crank engine and see if rpm is indicated on tach. Should read about 200 rpm while cranking. If no, you have no low res pulse and car won't run.

Opti low res pulse missing code does not light the service engine soon light. You have to use an obd 2 scanner to scan for codes.

If your going to live with a lt1 equipped car, better buy a pc based oscilloscope from Ebay, Amazon, etc. They cost about $70 Use it to test opti low & high res signals. Also good for testing fuel enable signal that's part of security system.

If you need a new opti, don't cheap out and buy a store brand or Ebay special. Get a GM, Delphi, or Msd. They are the best of a sorry group of available parts. With your cheap opti, you will have a 50-50 chance of it being bad right out of box.

If lucky enough to get one that works, you have a 50-50 chance of it failing within a few thousand miles.
cocobolo95 is offline  
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-26-2017, 08:51 AM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
WS6bird97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 75
 
I'm not sure about having spark at the plugs as I am alone. While cranking the RPMs flutter so quickly it's hard to tell if it makes it to 200. It lasts about a second before it gives up. The cap was not beige like the OEM it replaced even though it says it is GM. Hopefully I didn't get screwed. While diagnosing the original Opti, I slid a paper towel into the crevice of the optical sensor and a little oil was on there. Do you think I ruined the sensor? Low res is optical right? I wonder if it is too late to send the cap back and get the $500 MSD Opti-spark.
I will invest in the PC based oscilloscope as I am never getting rid of this car.

97 WS6 Trans Am M6 ; CC-503-8, BBK headers, Hurst short throw shifter, pulley, CAI, TB bypass, Zoom clutch, Cherry Bomb muffler, EGR and AIR delete, 2 1/2'' e-cutout, Solomon Tune.
WS6bird97 is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-26-2017, 02:04 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,082
 
are you sure you got the opti lined up to the cam pin right?

did it sit dead nuts flush against block by just holding it on with hand.....or did you draw it in when you tightened the bolts?

the answer to the later better be no.

I have had oil get inside opti and gently & carefully cleaned it out and all was/still is fine

the metal disc with the 360 small slots in it goes "in" the optical sensor. If you smeared that sensor with oil and didn't get it all out, this would cause a no start issue.

paper towel, can of air or compressor on low to clean, blow out anything that may be in the optical sensor
BALLSS is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-26-2017, 02:26 PM
Regular Member
 
garybo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 12
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS6bird97 View Post
I'm not sure about having spark at the plugs as I am alone. While cranking the RPMs flutter so quickly it's hard to tell if it makes it to 200. It lasts about a second before it gives up. The cap was not beige like the OEM it replaced even though it says it is GM. Hopefully I didn't get screwed. While diagnosing the original Opti, I slid a paper towel into the crevice of the optical sensor and a little oil was on there. Do you think I ruined the sensor? Low res is optical right? I wonder if it is too late to send the cap back and get the $500 MSD Opti-spark.
I will invest in the PC based oscilloscope as I am never getting rid of this car.
From what I have read on this site as well as CamaroZ28, is that there have been numerous problems with the MSD Opti-Spark. Some guys have lucked out, and others have had problems from right out of the box to shortly afterwards. Maybe you will luck out.

Maybe disassembly and close inspection of the current one will reveal something you missed.

95 Z28, Automatic, Stock except for CAI, Throttle Body Bypass, Flowmaster Exhaust. 2:73 Rear, SLP Fan Control, 145k Miles - Runs Great

Last edited by garybo; 03-26-2017 at 02:29 PM.
garybo is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-26-2017, 03:25 PM
Regular Member
 
beaver50's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: KENTUCKY
Posts: 295
 
Garage
Go ahead and buy you a opti and get it over with.If you have oil in the cap its over for that opti.Also change out the seal behind it.Why your in there just change all 3 seals in the timing cover.You can get the whole kit with water pump gaskets for $12.Its cheaper that way.Ive been threw this tooooooo many times.Change the opti!!!

5.7 LT1,All lunati parts,complete rebuild.1.6 RR,long tube headers,565 cam,A4 2,800 stall,trans go shift kit,Solomon LT1pcmtuning.com tune
beaver50 is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-27-2017, 05:45 AM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
WS6bird97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 75
 
I am sure I lined up the opti and didn't force the screws. When cleaning I wasn't sure about the discs relation to which was up and down. Didn't think it mattered. I installed it with the words/numbers up. Was that correct? Also I didn't follow torque specs when bolting the cap back on the distributor. I wonder if I didn't go tight enough. I used blue lock tight on all screws. I should not have half assed that part. I did replace all the gaskets and O-rings when I installed a new cam (CC-503-8) a few months ago. At that time I should have opened the opti as it was missing before the cam swap-Another stupid thing I have done.
I will tear apart the car again this weekend and examine what I have done. If I can't find anything , I guess I will buy the remanufactured AC Delco opti on Summit.

97 WS6 Trans Am M6 ; CC-503-8, BBK headers, Hurst short throw shifter, pulley, CAI, TB bypass, Zoom clutch, Cherry Bomb muffler, EGR and AIR delete, 2 1/2'' e-cutout, Solomon Tune.
WS6bird97 is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-08-2017, 12:49 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
WS6bird97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 75
 
Well I replaced the Opti with the AC Delco from summit w/ the new pigtail and Nothing! Same thing. I'm getting tired of tearing this car apart. I'm at a loss. This time I did have to force the screws a little (1/8''), but I think that it felt normal (maybe new O-rings?) I'm sure that the pin drive was lined up also. Should I start replacing the icm and wires or take the Opti off and try to line it up again?

97 WS6 Trans Am M6 ; CC-503-8, BBK headers, Hurst short throw shifter, pulley, CAI, TB bypass, Zoom clutch, Cherry Bomb muffler, EGR and AIR delete, 2 1/2'' e-cutout, Solomon Tune.
WS6bird97 is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-08-2017, 04:35 PM
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 11,983
 
Did you get a pc based oscilloscope like I suggested in post #3? It's the only 100% reliable way of seeing if low & high res pulses are there and the correct voltage and wave form.

Have you checked the opti pigtail harness which runs from passenger side of intake to opti? It's connectors, pin, and wires can go bad.
cocobolo95 is offline  
post #11 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-08-2017, 04:35 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,082
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS6bird97 View Post
This time I did have to force the screws a little (1/8''), but I think that it felt normal (maybe new O-rings?) I'm sure that the pin drive was lined up also. Should I start replacing the icm and wires or take the Opti off and try to line it up again?
you should always be able to have the Opti flush with block by pushing with hand. New Opti with new O ring does have a slight "snug" feel when putting on but by hand it should sit dead nuts flush with TC. If you had to pull it in last 1/8" with the 3 Opti bolts....it is not lined up on dowel pin and will never start this way

your action stating you "force the screws a little (1/8") contradicts your next statement "I'm sure that the pin drive was lined up.."
BALLSS is offline  
post #12 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-08-2017, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
WS6bird97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 75
 
I did not purchase the oscilloscope, but will now. Is there a recommended one? The opti's pigtail is brand new and heat-shrinked on there. I guess the dowel wasn't lined up. I messed with that thing for 20 minutes before it would even get to that 1/8'' gap, so I thought maybe I was there. Is there a trick to this? I had no trouble with the original.
I guess I will be buying a set of water-pump gaskets for the 4th time.

97 WS6 Trans Am M6 ; CC-503-8, BBK headers, Hurst short throw shifter, pulley, CAI, TB bypass, Zoom clutch, Cherry Bomb muffler, EGR and AIR delete, 2 1/2'' e-cutout, Solomon Tune.
WS6bird97 is offline  
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-08-2017, 07:55 PM
Global Moderator
 
cocobolo95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fruitland Park,Florida
Posts: 11,983
 
Go to the following limk to see a pic of where cam dowel pin goes into opti. Component views section #54 shbox.com

I have a $70 Hantek brand pc scope bought on ebay. You don't have to get a high performance expensive pc scope to test opti & fuel enable signal.
cocobolo95 is offline  
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-08-2017, 08:04 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
WS6bird97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 75
 
I just removed the distributor again and the dowel pin was in the correct slot of the coupling. I did however notice that I didn't hammer in the the new seal in the timing cover all the way (maybe a 1/16'' left to hammer on the bottom) I think that was why I had to force the bolts.
I am looking on Ebay for the scope and see a lot of them. I was wondering which one you have? While I am ordering things, do you think I should get a new coil?

97 WS6 Trans Am M6 ; CC-503-8, BBK headers, Hurst short throw shifter, pulley, CAI, TB bypass, Zoom clutch, Cherry Bomb muffler, EGR and AIR delete, 2 1/2'' e-cutout, Solomon Tune.
WS6bird97 is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-08-2017, 08:07 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
WS6bird97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 75
 
How about this one?

Hantek PC Based USB Digital Storage Oscilloscope 6022BE 20Mhz Bandwidth | eBay

97 WS6 Trans Am M6 ; CC-503-8, BBK headers, Hurst short throw shifter, pulley, CAI, TB bypass, Zoom clutch, Cherry Bomb muffler, EGR and AIR delete, 2 1/2'' e-cutout, Solomon Tune.
WS6bird97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome