H/C/I Almost complete - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-15-2013, 11:03 AM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
 
H/C/I Almost complete

I can't wait till tax refunds!
I will be finishing up buying stuff for my H/C/I install i just need the cam and heads and all the gaskets and the right lenght pushrods when i find out which lenght they need to be.
My car is a '98 camaro z28 M6 with almost 130k. right now i have already installed on the car is slp air lid, ported tb, tsp 1 7/8 longtubes, ory pipe, lm2 catback. pro 5.0 short shifter.

this is what is going onto the car this march. I'm getting my cam and heads from lloyd elliot portswork and im getting the LE2 pkg the cam specs are 223/227 .610/.614 112 LSA and the heads are .02/1.60 valves
Patriot Gold Dbl springs, Ti retainers, locks and locators
custom valve job
mill, cleaning and assembly
flow about 305/220

I'm thinking about getting fast 36lb injectors or racetronix 42lb injectors for my setup ?

I'm installing a LS6 Intake, LS6 ported oil pump, LS2 timing chain, LS7 lifters, ticks master adjustable, gm slave cylinder, monster stage 2 clutch. and have hp tuner work done to it. What do you guys think of this setup ? and what about rwhp #'s ? the cam is good for 1500-6200 rpm soo i wont touch the rpm limiter. Ill be getting small stuff like a raptor shift lite, poly motor and tranny mounts. and a wideband.

Also should i go with katech rodbolts ? i will only be spinning it too 6200 once and awhile. and with the katechs do they need to be resized ?

Last edited by brock2k; 01-20-2013 at 04:40 PM.
brock2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-16-2013, 05:45 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
 
bump
brock2k is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-16-2013, 06:18 PM
Global Moderators
 
five7kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,215
 
Welcome to the Board.

I haven't used Katech bolts, just ARP. Whichever way you go, you can't resize factory LS1 rods. I put ARP's in my LS1 2 years ago, spin it to 6500 at the track regularly, and it's seen more than that without any issues.

'82 Berlinetta, 2000 LS1/4L60E. LS6 intake, shaved 317 heads, free-flowing air intake, long tube headers, 3600 stall, 3.73 posi. Best: 12.57 @ 109 at 5800' elevation; 11.82 @ 114 at HPT.
'57 Bel Air, my 1st car. In work: LQ4, L92 heads, LS3 intake, Erson cam; 4L80E, 4000 stall; 9".
'08 GXP grocery getter.
'95 Silverado 2500HD 6.5 TD. Just 335k miles so far.
'96 Vette Base Coupe. New to the herd.
five7kid is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-17-2013, 09:51 AM
Regular Member
 
Lawhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,640
 
You can hone the rods .002 I just did it with mine.

96 Trans Am Sold
00 Trans AM DD 13.342 at 107.4
93 Fox 5.3 Swap- In Progress

Lawhead is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-17-2013, 10:56 AM
Runs with scissors
 
Greed4Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 3,683
 
Just get SVO red top 30# injectors. They fed my 408, they'll be enough for a h/c 346. They'll save yo u a few bucks too.

I'll advise getting a larger cam and some TEA ported heads. I had a 226 grind and it left me wanting more.If you want a small grind then check out EPS. You'll be looking at 380-400 whp with the LE set up (depending on tune and dyno.) People make that cam only with larger cams that ard completely drivable, have plenty of torque, and don't have to spin past 6500 rpm to make power. You have the large primary headers, might as well use them with a littel higher RPM range.

Poly motor and trans mounts aren't needed and they transfer the vibration into the chassis. For the clutch, check into the Diamond clutches. Get a stage 3 and don't look back. It'll handle anything your 346 will throw at it.

So what are you doing for suspension and rear end upgrades?

Just two slow 4 doors.
Greed4Speed is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-17-2013, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
 
I already have the monster stage 2 clutch. I dont know what im going to do for suspension and the rearend.
brock2k is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-17-2013, 03:26 PM
Runs with scissors
 
Greed4Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 3,683
 
Save up for the rear. Its a breakage waiting to happen.

Without getting into the whole local shop drama, Monster is pretty much the same as Diamond with a different color painted on the metal parts. They're both local shops. So is LE for that matter.

For rod bolts, why not get arp?

Just two slow 4 doors.
Greed4Speed is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-17-2013, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
 
Yeah i should, i'm thinking a strange s60 with 4.10's or 4.11's

katech is just as good, they are the ones who design a lot of shit for the corvette racing program.
brock2k is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-17-2013, 06:18 PM
Runs with scissors
 
Greed4Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 3,683
 
I know who Katech is. Also know they tend to be overpriced. Just curious if there was any benefit to theirs.

Just two slow 4 doors.
Greed4Speed is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-17-2013, 09:08 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
 
Yes they are over priced. You supposedly dont have to resize them.
brock2k is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-21-2013, 12:26 PM
Global Moderators
 
five7kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,215
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawhead View Post
You can hone the rods .002 I just did it with mine.
Did you put in .002" oversized shells after that?
five7kid is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 11:16 AM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
 
Still going to stick with llyods cam and heads, just cant beat the price, and i have heard nothing but good stuff about his work, even with the ls1.
brock2k is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-01-2013, 09:29 AM
Runs with scissors
 
Greed4Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 3,683
 
You'll make more power and torque with a different cam with a newer lobe design. I can't think of one local LS car running his cam. His heads are a different story. If you want a small cam, do a search on EPS cams. Sure a different cam may cost a little more $, but its cheaper than reinstalling a larger cam 6 mo later when you're wanting more power.

Thats just my $.02 from my experiences, but its your car and bank account.

Just two slow 4 doors.
Greed4Speed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome