Prothane Trans Mount - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 01:24 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Zanez28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 537
 
Prothane Trans Mount

I recently went to auto zone and just bought a Duralast Trans mount for like $13. I've been hearing about how "Good" the Prothane's are. Is it worth ordering the trans mount insteading of using the Duralast one. Has anyone with the mount noticed a difference? Thanks

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

94' z28 A4 with MSD Ignition, MSD Super Conductor 8.5MM Wires, NGK Plugs, Lingenfelter CAI, TF Elbow, Flowmaster ex, Meziere EWP.
Zanez28 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 02:52 PM
Spelling Bee winnah!
 
xDetroitMetalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rolling down Pontiac on dem dubs doe!
Posts: 5,018
 
DO NOT BUY THE PROTHANE... It never felt right, I have it in a box somewhere. Instead buy the Energy Suspension mount. Since you are an LT1 with an A4 I would recommend not installing the "preload plate" even though the instructions insist that you do so. This will raise your trany up too high with the OEM cross member. If you ever get the TA Relocation Bar from UMI then I would install the preload plate, but until then leave it off and keep it somewhere safe. Leaving the plate off will not damage anything, I had mine off for 10k miles and there was no sign of extra wear or damage.

Oh yea, instal the rubber mount for now until the poly mount arrives. You don't want to drive the car with that thing ripped. I've heard some horror stories of the tail of the trans snapping off.

xDetroitMetalx is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 03:02 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Zanez28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 537
 
Dang, im driving it now with the thing tore up How hard is it to replace? Can it be done quick?

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

94' z28 A4 with MSD Ignition, MSD Super Conductor 8.5MM Wires, NGK Plugs, Lingenfelter CAI, TF Elbow, Flowmaster ex, Meziere EWP.
Zanez28 is offline  
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 03:18 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Zanez28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 537
 
I was going to this once i can get on the lift at my stepbrothers house, could i do it with the jack thats in the trunk?

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

94' z28 A4 with MSD Ignition, MSD Super Conductor 8.5MM Wires, NGK Plugs, Lingenfelter CAI, TF Elbow, Flowmaster ex, Meziere EWP.
Zanez28 is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 03:34 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 281
 
You can do it with a jack... its really really simple.

Ive done two of them on both fbodies ive had and I used Energy susp. both times and just jacked up the drivers side of the car and slid under (around the dront of the drivers door) and straight in is the tranny crossmember and on top of that is the tranny mount.

Just put a jack stand under the tail shaft (up tight) and then take out the bolts and swap in the new one.... its self explanatory. (i use a jack stand as a precautionary)

NemesisLT1 is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 03:38 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Zanez28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 537
 
I went ahead and ordered this:
http://www.jegs.com/i/Energy+Suspens...1108R/10002/-1

He told me it should be here by friday. Do i need to install the Rubber one or can i take it back? Should i be fine till saturday? I will Probolay only drive 40 miles..

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

94' z28 A4 with MSD Ignition, MSD Super Conductor 8.5MM Wires, NGK Plugs, Lingenfelter CAI, TF Elbow, Flowmaster ex, Meziere EWP.
Zanez28 is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 03:54 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 281
 
Its all in risk to you. Worst case scenario you buy a new Tailshaft lol....

You might as well pull that tranny out and put a new torque converter while your under there... lol hint hint....

NemesisLT1 is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 03:56 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Zanez28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 537
 
Ahaha, once i sell some of these parts im trying to sell i swear im getting it from you!

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

94' z28 A4 with MSD Ignition, MSD Super Conductor 8.5MM Wires, NGK Plugs, Lingenfelter CAI, TF Elbow, Flowmaster ex, Meziere EWP.
Zanez28 is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 03:58 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 281
 
I had someone locally email me on craigslist... question is... should i be an ass and sell it hahahaha jk

NemesisLT1 is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 04:32 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Zanez28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 537
 
Karma!

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

94' z28 A4 with MSD Ignition, MSD Super Conductor 8.5MM Wires, NGK Plugs, Lingenfelter CAI, TF Elbow, Flowmaster ex, Meziere EWP.
Zanez28 is offline  
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 06:12 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Gerrardstown, WV
Posts: 334
 
nothing wrong with a prothane mount. ive had one for about 6 months and i havent had one single problem with it, took it out of the box and bolted it right on


2000 Camaro
1997 Firebird Formula
slackerr26 is offline  
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 06:32 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 281
 
I did my first fbody one with an energy, and drove it for 6+ months then sold that car.

I did a energy on my current fbody about 3 years ago now, and it hasnt had a single issue.

If I ever need another poly mount ill use energy, kuz its proven good to me!

NemesisLT1 is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 06:43 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Zanez28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 537
 
Did you notice any difference when you put the mount on nemesis? Like from a dig?

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

94' z28 A4 with MSD Ignition, MSD Super Conductor 8.5MM Wires, NGK Plugs, Lingenfelter CAI, TF Elbow, Flowmaster ex, Meziere EWP.
Zanez28 is offline  
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 07:19 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 281
 
just feels more "solid".... its not something that makes your car feel beastly, but the reassurance that you have something that isnt just gonna snap when you launch the car always helps. plus if your gonna have a 2800 stall and you shoot off the line, you will pop OEM rubbers easily.... these hold up tons better. Ive beat the shit out of my car for 3 years and still havnt broken a poly energy one.

and if yours is broken, then you need to replace it ASAP anyways, why not "performance" rather then "oem"....

Whenever something breaks replace it with something better, thats what I always say....

NemesisLT1 is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Zanez28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 537
 
Exactly, I guess i wont drive it till saturday

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

94' z28 A4 with MSD Ignition, MSD Super Conductor 8.5MM Wires, NGK Plugs, Lingenfelter CAI, TF Elbow, Flowmaster ex, Meziere EWP.
Zanez28 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome