conversion to an ls3/6L80 in a 91 camaro rs - LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums

Welcome to LS1LT1.com/LS3forums.com - please click here to register...

LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums
Presented by:

New User? Register
LS1 Forums Register Photo Gallery Tech/FAQ Members List Calendar Auto Loans Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance
Premium Membership Videos Perf Tools Mobile/iPhone Link to Us! Social Groups Follow LS1LT1 on Twitter


Go Back   LS1LT1 Forum : LT1, LS1, Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, Engine Tech Forums > Platform Specific Tech > 3rd Gen F-body Tech

LS1LT1.com is the premier Pontiac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2009, 05:08 PM   #1
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
sadeks8 user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default conversion to an ls3/6L80 in a 91 camaro rs

does anyone know exactly what is needed for an ls3/6l80 conversion into my 91 camaro other than the motor and tranny?
sadeks8 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2009, 06:19 PM   #2
Regular Member
 
talover111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: united states
Posts: 460
talover111 Apprentice Level Tech III
Default

computer, wiring harness, fuel pump, new front suspension, bigger brakes and rotors, and probably before too long a new rear end ,new motor and tranny mounts obviously and im probably forgetting some stuff but this will give you an idea of where to start hopefully
__________________
STOP SUPPORTING THEIVES. DONT BUY HONDUH.
show your support and copy this into your sig..
talover111 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 04:30 PM   #3
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
sadeks8 user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

well i found a conversion kit for an ls1 that comes with a wiring harness but im not sure if its the same thing, ive been looking for a rear end with posi disc, abs and traction control, and ive seen the motor mounts i need but is there a special tranny mount used?
sadeks8 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 11:24 PM   #4
Global Moderators
 
five7kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,208
five7kid Apprentice Level Tech II
Default

I don't know specifics about the 6L80E, but something tells me nobody has addressed it in the aftermarket yet. Fab time.

An LS1 harness won't work with an LS3. Some of it may, but TBW alone is beyond LS1 territory.
__________________
'82 Berlinetta, 2000 LS1/4L60E. LS6 intake, shaved 317 heads, free-flowing air intake, long tube headers, 3600 stall, 3.73 posi. Best: 12.57 @ 109 at 5800' elevation; 11.82 @ 114 at HPT.
'57 Bel Air, my 1st car. In work: LQ4, L92 heads, LS3 intake, Erson cam; 4L80E, 4000 stall; 9".
'08 GXP grocery getter.
'95 Silverado 2500HD 6.5 TD. Just 335k miles so far.
'96 Vette Base Coupe. New to the herd.
five7kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 05:19 PM   #5
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
sadeks8 user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

hmmm well then i guess i need to look around for more parts
sadeks8 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 04:29 PM   #6
Global Moderators
 
five7kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,208
five7kid Apprentice Level Tech II
Default

Are you getting a new engine and transmission, or pulling them from a donor vehicle?
five7kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:01 PM   #7
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
sadeks8 user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

The tranny is from a donor vehicle but the motor I'm buying brand new
sadeks8 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 01:11 AM   #8
Global Moderators
 
five7kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,208
five7kid Apprentice Level Tech II
Default

I assume the donor vehicle doesn't have the LS3. That would be your best source for the harness, if available.

I'm guessing the 6L80 won't have provision for the torque arm mount. What were you planning there?
__________________
'82 Berlinetta, 2000 LS1/4L60E. LS6 intake, shaved 317 heads, free-flowing air intake, long tube headers, 3600 stall, 3.73 posi. Best: 12.57 @ 109 at 5800' elevation; 11.82 @ 114 at HPT.
'57 Bel Air, my 1st car. In work: LQ4, L92 heads, LS3 intake, Erson cam; 4L80E, 4000 stall; 9".
'08 GXP grocery getter.
'95 Silverado 2500HD 6.5 TD. Just 335k miles so far.
'96 Vette Base Coupe. New to the herd.
five7kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 07:35 AM   #9
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
sadeks8 user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

well i guess i will have to think of something maybe ill weld it to the tranny, dont know yet
sadeks8 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 11:51 AM   #10
Global Moderators
 
five7kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,208
five7kid Apprentice Level Tech II
Default

Fastening the torque arm to the crossmember would be a better route.
five7kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 09:48 PM   #11
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
sadeks8 user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default

yea that does sound easier
sadeks8 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 09:50 AM   #12
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 5
mikesanto70 user's tech expertise is unknown at this point
Default LS3 swap in 3rd gen harness

Hey bro, contact John @ speartech fuel injection systems and he will custom build you a plug and play harness for that swap. He is the only one doing it for that swap right now. He is going to build one for me for my swap, their # 765-378-4908 ask for John.

Also if you want to put custom guages in your 90-92 camaro, Bruce @ Covans classic dash is also building a custom guage panel for 90-92 camaros as well so you can put a 200mph autometer phantom series speedo and the rest of the guages as well, I convinced him to start building them. They made them for 82-89 but not 90-92 so I called him and got the ball rolling cause w/ an LS3 a 110 or even 145mph wont cut it, you'll bury that 145 midway through 4th gear.
Contact Greg @ Covans classic dash @ 1-866-882-3525 .
Good Luck and let me know how you make out w/ your swap.
mikesanto70@yahoo.com
mikesanto70 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 04:15 PM   #13
Global Moderators
 
five7kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,208
five7kid Apprentice Level Tech II
Default

I know a little about the 4L80E, but next to nothing about the 6L80E. Are they the same length? Mount location the same? Other issues???
five7kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 04:03 PM   #14
10 Second Opti Club
 
sweetbmxrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 6,344
sweetbmxrider Tradesman Level Tech I
Default

yeah i was wondering the same 4l80e vs 6l80e?

also, you could do a chassis mounted torque arm. it mounts to the two spot welded braces and replaces the flimsy stamp steel piece, assuming third gens are set up with one. i may be wrong here.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShowNoMercy View Post
this is the internet, take it to seriously and you won't get out alive.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=iPMmW3giQQc
sweetbmxrider is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


» Recommended
Find technical articles on a Chevy Corvette, including tips and tricks on a Chevy Camaro and expert advice for Pontiac Firebird, along with reviews on the Cadillac CTS.
» Auto Insurance
» Sponsors
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.5.2
Copyright © 2005 - 2011 by LS1LT1.com

Our Friends:


Illegal Street Racing | Super Cars | LT1 Tech Articles